The Mom Site ยท themomsite.com/gear/chicco-car-seats/
On this page8 sections
Key takeaways
- The KeyFit and KeyFit 30 share a base. The KeyFit 35 needs its own base or the KeyFit Max base. The KeyFit Max carrier fits only the KeyFit Max base. The Fit2 uses its own base [6][7][8][9][10][11][12].
- Weight limits: KeyFit 4 to 22 lb, KeyFit 30 and KeyFit Max 4 to 30 lb, KeyFit 35 and Fit2 4 to 35 lb. Height limits run 30 to 35 inches [1][2][3][4][5].
- Chicco's infant seat manuals say not to use the seat if it is more than 6 years old. The Do Not Use After date is on a label under the carrier [9][10][11][12].
- NHTSA lists a 2008 recall of about 18,000 KeyFit and KeyFit 30 bases (08C-007) and a 2025 recall of the MyFit Zip Air harness booster. We found none for current KeyFit or Fit2 infant seats [16][17][22].
- The seats click into Chicco strollers directly. Chicco excludes the Liteway on every seat and the Urbino on the KeyFit, KeyFit 30 and KeyFit Max [1][2][3][4][5].
Which base fits your Chicco seat depends on the carrier, not just the "KeyFit" name. The base sold for the KeyFit and KeyFit 30 won't hold a KeyFit 35 or KeyFit Max, while the KeyFit Max base holds everything in the KeyFit line [6][7][8]. The table below is the answer, straight from Chicco's own product pages and manuals.
We don't test car seats. Everything here comes from Chicco's pages and manuals, NHTSA's recall data and the AAP. For how Chicco stacks up against Graco, see our Chicco vs Graco car seat comparison.
Which Chicco base fits which KeyFit?
Find your carrier in the left column, then read across to the bases that take it.
| Your carrier | Bases that fit | Base that does not fit |
|---|---|---|
| KeyFit | KeyFit Base, KeyFit 35 Base, KeyFit Max Base | Fit2 base |
| KeyFit 30 | KeyFit Base, KeyFit 35 Base, KeyFit Max Base | Fit2 base |
| KeyFit 35 | KeyFit 35 Base, KeyFit Max Base | KeyFit Base |
| KeyFit Max | KeyFit Max Base only | KeyFit Base, KeyFit 35 Base |
| Fit2 | Fit2 base only | KeyFit Base, KeyFit 35 Base, KeyFit Max Base |
And the same thing from the base's side, with Chicco's own wording:
| Base | Chicco says it fits | Source |
|---|---|---|
| KeyFit Base | KeyFit and KeyFit 30. "Not compatible with KeyFit 35 or KeyFit Max." | [6][10] |
| KeyFit 35 Base | KeyFit, KeyFit 30 and KeyFit 35. "NOT compatible with KeyFit Max." | [7][11] |
| KeyFit Max Base | KeyFit, KeyFit 30, KeyFit 35 and KeyFit Max. The Max manual says not to use the Fit2 carrier on it. | [8][9] |
| Fit2 base | Fit2 carriers only. The KeyFit 30 and KeyFit 35 manuals say not to put a Fit2 on their bases, or the reverse. | [10][11][12] |
Two things to know:
- If you're buying a spare base for a KeyFit 30, the KeyFit Base is the matching one, and the KeyFit Max Base also takes it. The Max base is the more flexible buy if you might move to a Max later [6][8].
- Zip versions. Chicco's KeyFit 35 Zip page says that carrier fits the KeyFit 35 and KeyFit Max bases, matching the table [20].
Chicco's manuals also cover installing the carrier without a base, using a locking vehicle belt. They say never to do it with a non-locking belt [9][10]. The KeyFit Max has integrated belt routing for carrier-only installs [4].
Check price on Amazon Affiliate link for the KeyFit Base, or check price on Amazon Affiliate link for the KeyFit Max Base. Chicco also sells both directly.
Chicco KeyFit weight and height limits by model
| Seat | Weight | Height | Carrier weight | Strollers it clicks into |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| KeyFit | 4 to 22 lb [1] | Up to 30 in [1] | Not listed | All Chicco except Liteway and Urbino [1] |
| KeyFit 30 | 4 to 30 lb [2] | Up to 30 in [2] | 9.5 lb [2] | All Chicco except Liteway and Urbino [2] |
| KeyFit 35 | 4 to 35 lb [3] | Up to 32 in [3] | 10 lb [3] | All Chicco except Liteway [3] |
| KeyFit Max | 4 to 30 lb [4] | Up to 32 in [4] | 10 lb [4] | All Chicco except Liteway and Urbino [4] |
| Fit2 | 4 to 35 lb [5] | Under 35 in [5] | 11 lb [5] | All Chicco except Liteway [5] |
The plain KeyFit tops out at 22 pounds, lower than the KeyFit 30 [1][2]. If you inherit one, check the label before you count on 30.
Height usually runs out first. The KeyFit 30 manual says the child's height must be 30 inches or less, with the head at least 1 inch below the top of the headrest. The Max manual says the same with a 32-inch limit [9][10]. The newborn positioner is for babies from 4 to 11 pounds [9][10].
You may see the KeyFit 35 and Fit2 secondhand. Their manuals carry the same 6-year rule as the newer seats [11][12].
When your baby outgrows the carrier, keep them rear-facing in a convertible seat. The AAP says to keep kids rear-facing until they reach the top height or weight limit for their seat [21]. Many states set a minimum age too; see our state car seat laws. Our infant vs convertible comparison covers the switch.
Check price on Amazon Affiliate link for the KeyFit 30, or check the KeyFit Max on Amazon Affiliate link.
How long is a Chicco car seat good for? (expiration)
Chicco's infant seat manuals say the same thing, word for word: do not use the seat if it is more than 6 years old, and check the "Do Not Use After" date on the label on the underside of the carrier [9][10][11][12]. That covers the KeyFit, KeyFit 30, KeyFit 35, KeyFit Max and Fit2. For example, a carrier made March 15, 2022 is done March 15, 2028.
Other facts on Chicco's expiration rules:
- Where to look. Chicco says the date appears on the underside of the car seat, on the car seat base, on an adhesive manufacturer label, and on the registration card [13].
- The base has a date too. If you bought a spare base separately, check its own label. It may have been made on a different day than your carrier.
- Other Chicco seats run longer. Chicco lists rotating convertibles at 8 years [14]. See our car seat expiration guide for every brand side by side.
- Crashes. Chicco recommends replacing a car seat after a car crash of any level, including minor ones [15].
Chicco says never to use an expired seat. To retire one, remove the harness straps and seat cover, write "DO NOT USE - EXPIRED" on the frame, and bag it before disposal [13].
Chicco car seat recalls
We searched NHTSA's recall data for child restraints (campaigns since 2010) on October 16, 2026 for Chicco, Artsana and KeyFit. This is what we found, not a promise there are no others [16].
| Campaign | Year | Seats | Issue | Units |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 25C-005 | 2025 | MyFit Zip Air Harness and Booster, model numbers 07079561970070 and 04079561190070 | In certain configurations, the seat may allow excessive chest movement in a crash | 30,984 |
Chicco's fix was a free remedy kit with installation instructions, mailed to owners starting July 17, 2025. The recall line is 1-877-424-4226 [17]. That campaign covers a harness booster, not an infant seat.
The January 25, 2026 SafetyBeltSafe list names the KeyFit, KeyFit 30, KeyFit 30 Magic, KeyFit Max, KeyFit 35, KeyFit Strada and Fit2 among Chicco models with "no recalls, replacement parts, or warnings" [18]. Before 2010, NHTSA lists one KeyFit recall: in June 2008 Chicco recalled about 18,000 bases used with KeyFit and KeyFit 30 seats and Cortina travel systems (campaign 08C-007) [22]. Those bases are now far past Chicco's 6-year life. For any older secondhand seat, check the model number and date on NHTSA's recall page.
Register your Chicco seat online or by mail. Chicco's manuals say that is how the company reaches you in a recall [9].
Chicco travel systems and stroller fit
Chicco's seat pages say each carrier clicks into Chicco strollers with a one-hand, audible click-in [1][2][4]. The exceptions are in the limits table above: the Liteway stroller for every seat, and the Urbino for the KeyFit, KeyFit 30 and KeyFit Max [1][2][3][4][5].
For example, the Chicco Bravo LE Trio travel system comes with a KeyFit 30 Zip, rated 4 to 30 pounds and up to 30 inches [19]. Check the Bravo LE Trio on Amazon Affiliate link. Chicco's seat pages list only Chicco strollers. If you want a different brand's stroller, check that stroller maker's adapter list, since an adapter isn't part of the Chicco seat. Our car seat and stroller combo guide covers travel systems from several brands, and our infant car seat guide puts the KeyFit Max next to other brands.
| Model | Child weight | Child height | Carrier weight | Installs | Rebound or load leg | Where to buy |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Chicco KeyFit Max ClearTexRear-facing infant seat with base | 4 to 30 lb | Up to 32 in | 10 lb (base 8.5 lb) | Base with LATCH or seat belt; seat belt without base (European belt routing) | Anti-rebound bar | Check on AmazonAffiliate link |
| Chicco Bravo LE TrioFull-size stroller with infant seat | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Check on AmazonAffiliate link |
More comparisons: Chicco vs Britax and Chicco vs Nuna.
Questions people ask
What base does the Chicco KeyFit 30 use?
The KeyFit Base, which fits the KeyFit and KeyFit 30. The KeyFit 35 base and the KeyFit Max base also hold a KeyFit 30 carrier. Chicco's manuals say not to use a KeyFit 35 or Fit2 carrier on the KeyFit and KeyFit 30 base [6][8][10].
Is the Chicco KeyFit base the same as the KeyFit 30 base?
Yes. Chicco sells one 'KeyFit Base' for the KeyFit and the KeyFit 30. It is not compatible with the KeyFit 35 or KeyFit Max carriers [6].
What is the Chicco KeyFit weight limit?
It depends on the model. The KeyFit is 4 to 22 pounds and up to 30 inches. The KeyFit 30 is 4 to 30 pounds and up to 30 inches. The KeyFit Max is 4 to 30 pounds and up to 32 inches. The KeyFit 35 is 4 to 35 pounds and up to 32 inches [1][2][3][4].
How long is a Chicco car seat good for?
Chicco's infant seat manuals say not to use the seat if it is more than 6 years old. Check the Do Not Use After date on the label under the carrier. Chicco puts dates on the base too [9][10][13].
Can you use a Chicco KeyFit without the base?
Yes. The KeyFit 30 and KeyFit Max manuals have a without-base install using a locking vehicle belt. Never install without the base using a non-locking belt [9][10].
Has the Chicco KeyFit been recalled?
Only once that we found: in 2008 Chicco recalled about 18,000 bases used with the KeyFit and KeyFit 30 (NHTSA campaign 08C-007). We found no recall for current KeyFit, KeyFit 30, KeyFit 35, KeyFit Max or Fit2 seats in NHTSA data searched on October 16, 2026, and the January 2026 SafetyBeltSafe list shows none either [16][18][22].
Sources
Numbers in brackets in the guide link to these sources.
- 1.KeyFit Infant Car Seat (product page)Chicco USA, 2026
- 2.KeyFit 30 ClearTex Infant Car Seat (product page)Chicco USA, 2026
- 3.KeyFit 35 Infant Car Seat (product page)Chicco USA, 2026
- 4.KeyFit Max ClearTex Infant Car Seat (product page)Chicco USA, 2026
- 5.Fit2 Adapt Infant & Toddler Car Seat (product page)Chicco USA, 2026
- 6.KeyFit Infant Car Seat Base (product page)Chicco USA, 2026
- 7.KeyFit 35 Base (product page)Chicco USA, 2026
- 8.KeyFit Max Infant Car Seat Base (product page)Chicco USA, 2026
- 9.KeyFit Max Infant Car Seat Product ManualChicco USA, 2026
- 10.KeyFit 30 Infant Car Seat Product Manual (03/2020)Chicco USA, 2020
- 11.KeyFit 35 Infant Car Seat Product Manual (03/2020)Chicco USA, 2020
- 12.Fit2 Infant & Toddler Car Seat Instruction ManualChicco USA, 2026
- 13.Why Do Car Seats Expire and How to Find Car Seat Expiration DatesChicco USA, 2026
- 14.Car Seat Safety: How Long Car Seats Last & Common Questions AnsweredChicco USA, 2026
- 15.Chicco Car Seat Durability and LongevityChicco USA, 2026
- 16.Recalls data file, child restraint campaigns since 2010 (searched October 16, 2026)National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA), 2026
- 17.Recall 25C-005: Chicco MyFit Zip Air Harness and BoosterNational Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA), 2025
- 18.List of Recalls and Replacement Parts for Child Restraints (January 25, 2026)SafetyBeltSafe U.S.A., 2026
- 19.Bravo LE Trio Travel System (product page)Chicco USA, 2026
- 20.KeyFit 35 Zip ClearTex Infant Car Seat (product page)Chicco USA, 2026
- 21.Car Seats: Information for FamiliesAmerican Academy of Pediatrics (HealthyChildren.org), 2026
- 22.Recall 08C-007: KeyFit and KeyFit 30 child seat basesNational Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA), 2008


