Skip to main content

Breast pumps covered by insurance: models compared

Spectra, Medela, Lansinoh, Motif, Elvie, Willow and Momcozy pumps compared on suction, weight, battery and closed system, and which often carry an upgrade fee.

By The Mom Site editorial teamUpdated 23 sources6 min read

Short answer

Most health plans cover a standard double electric breast pump at no cost through an in-network supplier, and many suppliers charge an upgrade fee for wearable or rechargeable models. This page compares pumps commonly offered through insurance on the specs their makers publish: maximum suction, weight, power, closed system and coverage tier. We don't test, rate or rank pumps.
On this page9 sections
  1. Key takeaways
  2. How to read the specs
  3. Traditional pumps compared
  4. Wearable pumps compared
  5. Fully covered or upgrade fee?
  6. Which type fits which situation
  7. Questions to ask your supplier
  8. Questions people ask
  9. Sources

Key takeaways

  • Most plans cover a standard double electric pump at no cost through an in-network supplier. Wearable and rechargeable models often carry an upgrade fee you pay yourself.
  • Among models whose makers publish it, maximum suction runs from 270 mmHg (Spectra S1 Plus and S2 Plus) to 300 mmHg (Elvie Stride). Medela, Lansinoh's Signature Pro and the Elvie Pump don't publish a figure on their product pages.
  • Byram, an insurance supplier, lists the Spectra S2 as commonly fully covered in 2026, and the Spectra S1, Elvie Stride and Willow Go among common upgrades.
  • The FDA doesn't recognize the term 'hospital-grade,' so 'hospital strength' on a box isn't a regulated category.
  • Insurers treat wearables differently: Cigna calls wireless pumps an upgrade, UnitedHealthcare lists wearables among typically covered types, and Aetna doesn't cover buying one.

Find lactation consultants near you

7,818 listed nationwide, from federal NPI records

Most health plans cover a standard double electric breast pump at no cost when you order through an in-network supplier. The federal guideline behind that benefit names double electric pumps, parts and milk storage supplies [21]. Which models land in the $0 tier depends on your plan and supplier. Wearable and rechargeable pumps often cost extra [13].

Below, pumps commonly offered through insurance suppliers are compared on the specs their makers publish. We don't test, rate or rank pumps. Where a maker doesn't publish a number, the table says so.

How to read the specs

  • Maximum suction (mmHg). The strongest vacuum the pump can reach. It's a ceiling, not the setting you should use. The Academy of Breastfeeding Medicine notes that pumps can injure breast tissue when flanges don't fit, suction is too high, or sessions run too long [22].
  • Closed system. A barrier that keeps milk out of the tubing and motor. Makers describe it in different words, so the table quotes them.
  • "Hospital strength" or "hospital-grade." The FDA says the term "hospital-grade pump" isn't recognized by the agency and has no consistent definition [17]. Treat it as the maker's wording, not a standard.
  • Weight and power. Lighter pumps with a built-in battery are easier to carry. Plug-in pumps need an outlet.

Traditional pumps compared

These pumps sit on a table or hang from a strap, with tubing to bottles at the breast.

Model Max suction Weight Power Closed system Maker's "hospital" wording Typical coverage
Spectra S2 Plus 270 mmHg [2] 2.5 to 3 lb (Spectra lists both) [2] Plug-in only [13] Yes, "a true closed system" [2] "Hospital strength" [2] Commonly fully covered, per Byram [13]
Spectra S1 Plus 270 mmHg [1] 3 lb [1] Built-in rechargeable battery [1] Yes [1] "Hospital strength" [1] Often an upgrade fee, per Byram [13]
Medela Pump In Style Pro Not on product page [3] 1.23 lb [3] AC power adapter [3] "Milk barrier" at the breast shield [3] Pumping pattern "similar to Symphony," Medela's hospital pump [3] Varies; ask your supplier
Medela Pump In Style Pro+ Rechargeable Not on product page [4] Under 2 lb [4] Rechargeable battery [4] Not stated "True hospital-grade performance" [4] Varies; ask your supplier
Lansinoh Signature Pro Not published [5] Not published Plug-in, or 6 AA batteries (not included) [5] Yes, "hygienic closed system" [5] "Hospital strength suction" [5] Varies; ask your supplier
Motif Luna Up to 280 mmHg [6] Under 2 lb [6] Plug-in model or rechargeable model [6] Yes [6] "Hospital-strength" and "hospital-grade suction strength" [6] Sold through insurance only [6]; tier varies

A few differences stand out:

  • Spectra S1 Plus vs. S2 Plus. Same 270 mmHg maximum. The S1 Plus adds a built-in battery [1][2]. Byram says that's why "the S1 often requires an upgrade fee, while the S2 is commonly fully covered" [13].
  • Spectra vs. Medela. The Pump In Style Pro weighs 1.23 lb, less than half the S2 Plus [2][3]. Spectra publishes its maximum suction and Medela's product page doesn't [2][3]. Spectra calls its pumps closed systems; Medela describes a milk barrier at the shield [2][3].
  • Motif Luna comes in plug-in and battery versions. Motif gives the battery's run time as "over 2 hours" in one place and "up to 4+ hours" in another [6].

Wearable pumps compared

Wearable pumps put the motor and milk cups inside your bra, with no tubing to a separate unit.

Model Max suction Weight Battery Closed system Maker's "hospital" wording Typical coverage
Elvie Stride Up to 300 mmHg, single-cup setup [7] Under 5 oz per cup [7] Nearly 3 hours [7] Yes [7] "Hospital-grade performance" [7] Often an upgrade fee, per Byram and Aeroflow [13][15]
Elvie Pump Not published [8] 225 g hub, about 8 oz [8] 5 to 6 sessions [8] Yes [8] None Upgrade, per Aeroflow [15]
Willow Go Up to 295 mmHg per side [9] Not published Up to 8 sessions [9] Yes [9] "Hospital-strength" [9] Upgrade fee, per Aeroflow and Byram [13][14]
Momcozy M5 Smart 285 mmHg [10] 230 g, about 8 oz [10] 180 min, about 6 sessions [10] Not stated None "Upgrade fee may apply," per Yummy Mummy [16]
Momcozy S12 Pro 285 mmHg [11] 240 g, about 8.5 oz [11] 240 min, 7 to 8 sessions [11] Not stated None "Often fully covered," per Yummy Mummy [16]
Lansinoh DiscreetDuo Flow Up to 280 mmHg [12] Not published Up to 200 min, up to 5 sessions [12] Not stated; "leakproof design" [12] "Hospital strength suction" [12] Commonly fully covered, per Byram [13]

Weights in ounces are converted from the makers' gram figures. Battery life is what each maker states; real run time depends on your settings.

Fully covered or upgrade fee?

Suppliers sort pumps into two tiers. Byram explains: "Most insurance plans cover a certain value of pump as 'fully covered,'" and "the upgrade fee is the difference between the covered amount and the price of the pump" [13]. It adds that upgrade fees "are not reimbursable by insurance, but may be eligible for FSA/HSA" [13].

Here's how three suppliers sort the models above:

  • Byram (2026): its five most common fully covered pumps are the Spectra S2, Lansinoh DiscreetDuo Flow, Zomee Fit, BabyBuddha 2.0 and Ardo Melia. Its five most common upgrades are the Spectra S1, Elvie Stride, Willow Go, Zomee W1 and Willow Sync [13].
  • Aeroflow: the Willow Go "is an upgrade item that requires an additional out-of-pocket cost" [14], and "wearable pumps like Elvie are considered upgrade items" [15].
  • Yummy Mummy: the Momcozy S12 Pro is "often fully covered," while the M5, M9 and Air 1 are marked "upgrade fee may apply." It adds that "coverage and upgrade fees vary by plan" [16].

None of those supplier pages lists upgrade fees in dollars. The same pump can be $0 on one plan and an upgrade on another, so ask for the exact fee in writing.

Insurers' own policies differ on wearables too:

  • Cigna includes a free starter kit and sells upgrades, such as wireless pumps, at a discounted rate [18].
  • UnitedHealthcare lists wearable pumps among the types typically covered [19].
  • Aetna doesn't cover buying a wearable, battery-operated pump under its electric pump code [20].

Insurer-by-insurer rules: Cigna, Anthem, UnitedHealthcare and Aetna.

Which type fits which situation

There's no single right pump. Here's how the types line up with common situations:

  • Pumping mostly at home or at a desk with an outlet. A plug-in double electric pump, such as the Spectra S2 Plus or Medela Pump In Style Pro, does the job. These pumps often fall in the fully covered tier.
  • Moving between rooms, pumping in the car, or no reliable outlet. A traditional pump with a built-in battery, such as the Spectra S1 Plus, Motif Luna or Medela Pump In Style Pro+, avoids the cord.
  • Pumping while you walk, work or care for an older child. Wearables free your hands. Among the wearables above that list sessions per charge, the range is about 5 to 8, and many are upgrades.
  • Pumping instead of breastfeeding, or a baby in the NICU. The Academy of Breastfeeding Medicine considers a hospital-grade double electric pump the ideal for a parent who is separated from the baby and fully replacing breastfeeding with pumping [23]. Those are usually rentals. See how insurance handles rentals and our guide to pumping schedules.

Flange fit matters as much as the pump. If pumping hurts or output drops, a lactation consultant can check your fit, and most plans cover that visit. See whether insurance covers lactation consultants.

Questions to ask your supplier

  1. Which pumps are $0 on my plan?
  2. What's the exact upgrade fee for the model I want, and can I pay it with HSA or FSA money?
  3. Which flange sizes come in the box, and can I get other sizes?
  4. How often will my plan cover replacement parts and milk storage bags?
  5. If I'm on Medicaid, which pumps does my state cover? Check Medicaid breast pump coverage by state.

Questions people ask

Is the Spectra S1 or S2 covered by insurance?

Both are commonly offered. The supplier Byram says the S2 is commonly fully covered, while the S1 often needs an upgrade fee because it has a built-in rechargeable battery. Your plan and supplier decide the final price.

What's the difference between Spectra and Medela pumps?

On published specs, the Spectra S2 Plus reaches 270 mmHg and weighs 2.5 to 3 pounds, and Spectra calls it a closed system. Medela's Pump In Style Pro weighs 1.23 pounds, uses a milk barrier at the breast shield, and doesn't list maximum suction on its product page.

Are wearable breast pumps covered by insurance?

It depends on the plan. UnitedHealthcare lists wearables among the types typically covered, Cigna treats wireless pumps as an upgrade, and Aetna's policy doesn't cover buying a wearable battery-operated pump. Many suppliers charge an upgrade fee for wearables.

What is an upgrade fee for a breast pump?

It's the difference between the amount your plan pays and the price of the pump you choose. Byram says upgrade fees aren't reimbursable by insurance but may be paid with HSA or FSA money.

Is a hospital-grade breast pump better?

The FDA says 'hospital-grade' isn't a term it recognizes and has no consistent definition. Multi-user pumps built for sharing are usually rented for specific needs, such as a baby in the NICU, and your plan decides when it covers one.

Does higher suction mean more milk?

Not necessarily. Maximum suction is the pump's ceiling, not the setting you should use. The Academy of Breastfeeding Medicine notes that suction set too high, poorly fitting flanges and very long sessions can injure breast tissue.

Sources

Numbers in brackets in the guide link to these sources.

  1. 1.Spectra S1 Plus Premier Rechargeable Double Electric Breast PumpSpectra Baby USA, 2026
  2. 2.Spectra S2 Plus Premier Double Electric Breast PumpSpectra Baby USA, 2026
  3. 3.Pump In Style Pro Double Electric Breast PumpMedela, 2026
  4. 4.Pump In Style Pro+ Traditional Rechargeable Electric Breast PumpMedela, 2026
  5. 5.Signature Pro Double Electric Breast Pump with ToteLansinoh, 2026
  6. 6.Motif Luna Double Electric Breast PumpMotif Medical, 2026
  7. 7.Elvie StrideElvie, 2026
  8. 8.Elvie PumpElvie, 2026
  9. 9.Willow Go Wearable Breast PumpWillow, 2026
  10. 10.M5 Smart Wearable Breast PumpMomcozy, 2026
  11. 11.S12 Pro product specificationsMomcozy Support, 2026
  12. 12.DiscreetDuo Flow Wearable Breast PumpLansinoh, 2026
  13. 13.Breast Pumps Through Insurance (FAQ)Byram Healthcare (Byram Baby), 2026
  14. 14.Willow Go Wearable Double Electric Breast PumpAeroflow Breastpumps, 2026
  15. 15.Elvie Breast Pumps Through InsuranceAeroflow Breastpumps, 2026
  16. 16.Momcozy Breast Pumps Through InsuranceYummy Mummy, 2026
  17. 17.Buying and Renting a Breast PumpU.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA)
  18. 18.Preventive Care Services, Administrative Policy A004 (effective 10/1/2026)Cigna Healthcare, 2026
  19. 19.Breast pump coverageUnitedHealthcare, 2026
  20. 20.Breast Pumps, Clinical Policy Bulletin 0421Aetna, 2026
  21. 21.Women's Preventive Services GuidelinesHealth Resources and Services Administration (HRSA), 2025
  22. 22.ABM Clinical Protocol #36: The Mastitis Spectrum, Revised 2022Academy of Breastfeeding Medicine, Breastfeeding Medicine, 2022
  23. 23.ABM Clinical Protocol #35: Supporting Breastfeeding During Maternal or Child HospitalizationAcademy of Breastfeeding Medicine, Breastfeeding Medicine, 2021