The Mom Site ยท themomsite.com/gear/best-wearable-breast-pumps/
On this page9 sections
Key takeaways
- Wearables are usually an insurance upgrade. Aeroflow lists the Willow Go and Elvie Pump as upgrades, and Byram lists the Elvie Stride the same way. Byram calls the Lansinoh DiscreetDuo Flow commonly fully covered.
- A UT Southwestern OB-GYN writes that a wearable can be strong enough with an established supply, but a low or still-building supply needs the stronger motor of a traditional pump.
- Maximum suction among the six runs from 280 mmHg (DiscreetDuo Flow) to 300 mmHg (Elvie Stride, single-cup setup). Elvie Pump doesn't publish one.
- Capacity per side runs about 5 to 6 ounces. Willow Go's standard containers hold up to 5 ounces each, with 7-ounce containers sold separately.
- Closed-system wording is on the Elvie and Willow pages and absent from the Momcozy and Lansinoh ones. Ask the maker how milk is kept out of the motor.
Most insured parents can get a standard double electric pump free, and a wearable pump is usually an upgrade [7][8]. If you want one anyway, pick by use: noise, app control, battery, capacity and cost. This guide covers six wearable breast pumps from their makers' specs. For regular pumps, see our best breast pumps.
Quick picks:
- Often fully covered, 6 oz cups: Lansinoh DiscreetDuo Flow
- Often fully covered, longest battery of the Momcozy pair: Momcozy S12 Pro
- App control and tracking: Momcozy M5 Smart
- Quietest by its maker's claim: Elvie Pump
- Highest published suction, hub outside the bra: Elvie Stride
- Longest battery, biggest containers: Willow Go
The specs side by side
Each value links to the maker's page. Noise and suction are makers' claims.
| Model | Max suction | Weight | Power | Closed system | Coverage / where to buy |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Lansinoh DiscreetDuo FlowWearable | Up to 280 mmHg | Not published | Up to 5 sessions per charge | Not stated | Commonly fully covered, per ByramAmazonAffiliate link |
| Momcozy S12 ProWearable | 285 mmHg | About 8.5 oz | 7 to 8 sessions per charge | Not stated | Often fully covered, per Yummy Mummy |
| Momcozy M5 SmartWearable | 285 mmHg | About 8 oz | About 6 sessions per charge | Not stated | Upgrade fee may apply, per Yummy MummyAmazonAffiliate link |
| Elvie PumpWearable | Not published | About 8 oz hub | 5 to 6 sessions per charge | Yes | Upgrade, per AeroflowAmazonAffiliate link |
| Elvie StrideWearable | Up to 300 mmHg, single-cup setup | Under 5 oz per cup | Nearly 3 hours per charge | Yes | Often an upgrade fee, per ByramAmazonAffiliate link |
| Willow GoWearable | Up to 295 mmHg per side | Not published | Up to 8 sessions per charge | Yes | Upgrade fee, per AeroflowAmazonAffiliate link |
| Pump | Capacity | Noise (maker's figure) | App | Flange sizes |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Lansinoh DiscreetDuo Flow | 6 oz per cup [6] | Under 45 dB [6] | Not listed [6] | 24 mm, inserts 15, 17, 19, 21 mm [6] |
| Momcozy S12 Pro | 6 oz (180 ml) [5] | 50 dB or less [5] | No [5] | 24 mm, 27 mm sold; inserts 15 to 21 mm [5] |
| Momcozy M5 Smart | 5.4 oz (160 ml) [4] | Under 48 dB [4] | Yes [4] | Not listed [4] |
| Elvie Pump | 5 oz bottle [2] | 32 dB [2] | Yes [2] | 21, 24, 28 mm; inserts 15, 17, 19 mm [2] |
| Elvie Stride | Not stated [1] | "Ultra-quiet," no figure [1] | Yes [1] | 21, 24, 28 mm; inserts 15, 17, 19 mm [1] |
| Willow Go | Up to 5 oz each (10 oz total) [3] | Not stated [3] | Yes [3] | 21, 24 mm; inserts 15, 17, 19 mm [3] |
In-bra or cup-style: what you're choosing
A wearable pump puts the motor and milk container in or near the bra, with no tubes. The Willow Go is fully in-bra, with no cords or external motors [3]. The Elvie Stride splits the parts: in-bra cups under 5 ounces each, and a hub that clips to a belt or clothing [1]. The Elvie Pump is worn inside a standard nursing bra [2]. Lansinoh describes a discreet fit inside your bra [6].
What matters in practice:
- Size and shape. Check the weight and your bra. Momcozy lists 230 g and 240 g, and Elvie lists a 225 g hub [2][4][5].
- Closed system. Elvie and Willow say theirs are closed systems [1][2][3]. We didn't find that wording on the Momcozy or Lansinoh pages we read.
- Containers. The Willow Go uses reusable containers only [3].
For head-to-heads, see Elvie vs Willow and Momcozy S9 vs S12 Pro.
Brand to brand: Momcozy vs Elvie.
The picks, by use
Recall status comes from a search of FDA's device recall database on October 16, 2026 [17]. We found no entries for Elvie, Willow, Momcozy or Lansinoh wearable pumps. Recalls can be added at any time, so check the maker's site for yours.
Often fully covered, 6 oz cups: Lansinoh DiscreetDuo Flow
Lansinoh lists 4 pumping modes, 9 suction levels up to 280 mmHg, under 45 dB and up to 200 minutes (about 5 sessions) per charge [6]. The cups hold 6 ounces, and five flange options come in the box [6]. Byram calls it commonly fully covered [7].
Not for: App users. The Lansinoh page doesn't list one, nor closed-system wording [6].
Check price on Amazon Affiliate link if you're paying out of pocket.
Often fully covered, longest Momcozy battery: Momcozy S12 Pro
Momcozy's spec page gives 285 mmHg maximum, 9 levels, three modes and 240 minutes (7 to 8 sessions) per charge [5]. It has no app [5]. Yummy Mummy says it's often fully covered, though plans vary [10].
Not for: Anyone who wants app tracking, or a published closed-system statement.
App control and tracking: Momcozy M5 Smart
The M5 has 285 mmHg, 9 levels, and an app that adjusts modes and tracks output [4]. It holds 5.4 ounces and runs about 6 sessions per charge [4]. Yummy Mummy says an upgrade fee may apply [10].
Not for: Parents who want to pay nothing.
Check price on Amazon Affiliate link if you're paying out of pocket.
Quietest by its maker's claim: Elvie Pump
Elvie claims 32 dB, the lowest figure in this guide, though the page gives no test conditions [2]. The hub weighs 225 g, the bottles hold 5 ounces, and the battery lasts 5 to 6 sessions [2]. Elvie calls it a closed system [2]. It doesn't publish max suction. Aeroflow lists it as an upgrade [9].
Not for: Anyone who needs a published suction number.
Check price on Amazon Affiliate link if you're paying out of pocket.
Highest published suction, hub outside the bra: Elvie Stride
Stride reaches up to 300 mmHg in a single-cup setup, with 10 intensity settings in each of two modes and nearly 3 hours per charge [1]. Cups weigh under 5 ounces each, and the hub clips outside the bra [1]. Byram and Aeroflow list the Stride as an upgrade [7][9].
Not for: Parents who want everything inside the bra.
Check price on Amazon Affiliate link if you're paying out of pocket.
Longest battery, biggest containers: Willow Go
Willow lists 15 suction levels, up to 8 sessions per charge and 5-ounce containers (10 ounces total), with 7-ounce containers sold separately [3]. Free sizing inserts come with purchase [3]. Aeroflow lists it as an upgrade [8].
Not for: Anyone avoiding reusable containers; Willow Go uses no milk bags [3].
Check price on Amazon Affiliate link if you're paying out of pocket.
Output: what to expect
Wearables aren't all-purpose. Rachel Schell, MD, of UT Southwestern, writes that a wearable "can be strong enough" for moms with an established milk supply, while those with low or still-establishing supply will need a stronger motor like those in traditional pumps [11]. She says moms with heavier supply or pumping for more than one baby may prefer a traditional pump [11]. Maximum suction is only a ceiling, and the Academy of Breastfeeding Medicine says suction set too high, ill-fitting flanges and long sessions can injure tissue [15].
If your output drops, check flange fit before blaming the pump. Our flange size guide walks through measuring, and a lactation consultant can watch a full session.
Insurance and upgrade fees
Plans differ. UnitedHealthcare lists wearables among the types typically covered, Cigna calls wireless pumps an upgrade, and Aetna's policy doesn't cover buying a wearable battery-operated pump [12][13][14]. Byram says upgrade fees aren't reimbursable by insurance but may be payable with HSA or FSA money [7].
Ask your supplier for the exact fee before you order. You can check what your plan covers Partner, or see all 12 models in our pump coverage comparison. The full process is in how to get a breast pump through insurance.
Safety basics
The FDA considers breast pumps single-user devices, so skip used or borrowed wearables [16]. Follow the maker's cleaning steps, and plan to keep a plug-in or manual pump as a backup, especially if you pump at work. See pumping at work and our pumping schedule.
Questions people ask
What is the best wearable breast pump?
It depends on what you value. The Elvie Pump claims 32 dB, the Willow Go has the longest battery per charge at up to 8 sessions, the Momcozy M5 and Elvie pumps have apps, and the Lansinoh DiscreetDuo Flow and Momcozy S12 Pro are the ones suppliers say are often fully covered. We don't rank them, and we didn't test them.
Do wearable breast pumps work as well as regular pumps?
For some people. A UT Southwestern OB-GYN says a wearable can be strong enough with an established milk supply, while those with low or still-establishing supply need the stronger motor in a traditional pump. If your output drops, check flange fit first and talk to a lactation consultant.
Does insurance cover wearable breast pumps?
Sometimes. UnitedHealthcare lists wearable pumps among types typically covered, Cigna treats wireless pumps as an upgrade, and Aetna's policy doesn't cover buying a wearable battery-operated pump. Suppliers often charge an upgrade fee, which Byram says may be payable with HSA or FSA money.
Are wearable pumps a closed system?
Elvie and Willow say theirs are. Momcozy and Lansinoh don't use that wording on the pages we read. Closed systems keep milk away from the motor and tubing, so ask the maker if it matters to you.
Do I need a different flange size for a wearable pump?
Possibly. Willow says its sizing may differ from other pumps you've used, and each maker publishes its own sizes and inserts. Measure again using the wearable maker's guide.
Can I use a wearable pump as my only pump?
Some parents do, but the OB-GYN source above notes traditional pumps suit low supply, heavier supply and pumping for multiples better. Many parents keep a plug-in pump as the main or backup pump.
Sources
Numbers in brackets in the guide link to these sources.
- 1.Elvie StrideElvie, 2026
- 2.Elvie PumpElvie, 2026
- 3.Willow Go Wearable Breast PumpWillow, 2026
- 4.M5 Smart Wearable Breast PumpMomcozy, 2026
- 5.S12 Pro product specificationsMomcozy Support, 2026
- 6.DiscreetDuo Flow Wearable Breast PumpLansinoh, 2026
- 7.Breast Pumps Through Insurance (FAQ)Byram Healthcare (Byram Baby), 2026
- 8.Willow Go Wearable Double Electric Breast PumpAeroflow Breastpumps, 2026
- 9.Elvie Breast Pumps Through InsuranceAeroflow Breastpumps, 2026
- 10.Momcozy Breast Pumps Through InsuranceYummy Mummy, 2026
- 11.Breast pump wearableUT Southwestern Medical Center (Rachel Schell, MD), 2024
- 12.Breast pump coverageUnitedHealthcare, 2026
- 13.Preventive Care Services, Administrative Policy A004 (effective 10/1/2026)Cigna Healthcare, 2026
- 14.Breast Pumps, Clinical Policy Bulletin 0421Aetna, 2026
- 15.ABM Clinical Protocol #36: The Mastitis Spectrum, Revised 2022Academy of Breastfeeding Medicine, Breastfeeding Medicine, 2022
- 16.Buying and Renting a Breast PumpU.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA)
- 17.Device Recalls (openFDA)U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA), 2026



