Skip to main content

Momcozy vs Elvie wearable breast pumps compared

Momcozy S9 Pro, S12 Pro and M5 vs Elvie Pump and Stride: suction, app control, noise claims, flange sizing, battery and which need an insurance upgrade fee.

ComparisonBy The Mom Site editorial teamUpdated 11 sources5 min read

This guide includes labeled affiliate links. If you buy or sign up through one, we may earn a fee at no cost to you. Partners don't see or shape what we write. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. How partners work

Short answer

On paper, Momcozy publishes suction for every pump (280 to 285 mmHg) while Elvie doesn't for the Elvie Pump, and Elvie puts an app on both its pumps while only Momcozy's M5 has one; Elvie claims 32 dB for the Elvie Pump, and the Elvie Stride clips a hub outside the bra. Suppliers call Elvie pumps insurance upgrades; one calls the Momcozy S12 Pro often fully covered.
On this page13 sections
  1. Key takeaways
  2. Momcozy vs Elvie side by side
  3. Design: one unit per side or cups plus a hub
  4. Suction, noise and the claims you can compare
  5. App control and tracking
  6. Flanges, inserts and fit
  7. Does insurance cover Momcozy or Elvie?
  8. Who each brand fits
  9. Recalls and safety
  10. Do wearables replace a regular pump?
  11. Where to buy
  12. Questions people ask
  13. Sources

Key takeaways

  • Momcozy publishes suction for the S9 Pro (280 mmHg, via Aeroflow), S12 Pro and M5 Smart (285 mmHg each). Elvie publishes 300 mmHg for the Stride in a single-cup setup and none for the Elvie Pump [1][2][3][5][6].
  • App control is the clearest split: both Elvie pumps have one, and among the Momcozy models only the M5 Smart does [2][3][4][5][6].
  • Elvie says its Pump runs 32 dB. Momcozy lists 45 to 50 dB across its models, and its S9 Pro page gives two different figures [1][2][4].
  • Elvie uses the words closed system on both pumps. Momcozy's pages don't, apart from Aeroflow's S9 Pro listing [1][2][5][6].
  • Insurance: Aeroflow and Byram describe the Elvie pumps as upgrades. Yummy Mummy calls the Momcozy S12 Pro often fully covered and the M5 an upgrade [7][8][9].

At a glance

Momcozy S9 Pro, S12 Pro and M5 Smart

Suits: Parents who want a published suction number and a larger collector, and who may find the S12 Pro offered with little or no fee.

  • Strength: Suction published for all three, 280 to 285 mmHg
  • Strength: S9 Pro and S12 Pro hold 6 oz
  • Strength: Yummy Mummy calls the S12 Pro often fully covered
  • Trade-off: Only the M5 Smart has an app
  • Trade-off: Momcozy's own pages disagree on noise for the S9 Pro
  • Trade-off: No closed-system wording on Momcozy's pages

Elvie Pump

Suits: Parents who want everything in the bra, app control, and the one noise figure either brand publishes (32 dB).

  • Strength: 32 dB claim from Elvie
  • Strength: App with live milk volume
  • Strength: Closed system, per Elvie
  • Trade-off: No suction figure published
  • Trade-off: 5 oz bottle
  • Trade-off: Aeroflow lists it as an upgrade

Elvie Stride

Suits: Parents who want the highest suction number either brand lists and don't mind a hub outside the bra.

  • Strength: Up to 300 mmHg in a single-cup setup
  • Strength: App control
  • Strength: Closed system, per Elvie
  • Trade-off: Hub clips outside the bra
  • Trade-off: Nearly 3 hours of battery
  • Trade-off: Byram lists it as a common upgrade

Find lactation consultants near you

7,818 listed nationwide, from federal NPI records

Momcozy and Elvie are two familiar names in wearable pumps, and they make different trade-offs. Momcozy publishes a suction number for each pump and lists 6 oz collectors on its S-series [3][4]. Elvie puts an app on both pumps and claims 32 dB for the Elvie Pump [1][2]. This guide compares the Momcozy S9 Pro, S12 Pro and M5 Smart with the Elvie Pump and Stride, using what the makers and suppliers publish.

We already cover Momcozy S9 vs S12 Pro and Elvie vs Willow in detail. This page is for the brand-to-brand question.

Momcozy vs Elvie side by side

Each value links to the maker or a supplier page. Noise and suction are the makers' figures.

Specs as each maker publishes them; each value links to its source. Coverage tiers are what the named supplier says, and your plan decides yours.We don't test or rate products. Checked October 9, 2026. Some links are labeled partner or affiliate links: how they work.
Spec Momcozy S9 Pro Momcozy S12 Pro Momcozy M5 Smart Elvie Pump Elvie Stride
Design In-bra, one unit per side [3] In-bra, one unit per side [4] In-bra, one unit per side [5] In-bra, bottle and hub in one [1] Cups in the bra, hub outside [2]
Maximum suction 280 mmHg, per Aeroflow [6] 285 mmHg [4] 285 mmHg [5] Not published [1] Up to 300 mmHg, single-cup setup [2]
Capacity 6 oz [3] 180 ml (6 oz) [4] 5.4 oz [5] 5 oz [1] Not stated; cups under 5 oz in weight [2]
Battery 8 to 9 sessions [3] 7 to 8 sessions [4] About 6 sessions [5] 5 to 6 sessions [1] Nearly 3 hours [2]
Noise (maker's claim) Under 45 dB and 50 dB on one page [3] 50 dB or less [4] Under 48 dB [5] 32 dB [1] "Ultra-quiet," no figure [2]
App No [3] No [4] Yes [5] Yes [1] Yes [2]
Closed system Yes, per Aeroflow [6] Not stated [4] Not stated [5] Yes [1] Yes [2]

Design: one unit per side or cups plus a hub

Five of the pumps here sit fully in the bra. The Momcozy S-series and M5, and the Elvie Pump, hold the motor and milk together on each side. The Elvie Stride is different. Its two soft cups, each under 5 oz in weight, connect by tubing to a hub that clips outside the bra [2]. That trade gives a lighter cup in the bra for a bulkier setup.

Elvie also sells a newer Stride 2. We link the original Stride, so confirm which one you order [2].

Suction, noise and the claims you can compare

Momcozy is the more open brand on suction. All three pumps list a number, from 280 to 285 mmHg [4][5][6]. Elvie publishes 300 mmHg for the Stride in a single-cup setup and nothing for the Elvie Pump [1][2]. A maximum is a ceiling, and it doesn't say how much milk you'll get.

Noise goes the other way. Elvie claims 32 dB for the Pump, the lowest figure either brand lists [1]. Momcozy lists 45 to 50 dB, and its S9 Pro page shows both under 45 dB and 50 dB [3][4][5]. We haven't measured any of these.

App control and tracking

The Elvie Pump's app shows live milk volume and session tracking [1]. Both Elvie pumps have app control [1][2]. Among Momcozy's models, only the M5 Smart has one, and the S9 Pro and S12 Pro don't [3][4][5]. If tracking matters, that narrows the Momcozy side to a single model.

Flanges, inserts and fit

Both brands default to a 24 mm flange. Elvie sells 21 and 28 mm shields and nipple cushions at 15, 17 and 19 mm for small nipples [1]. Momcozy lists 17, 19 and 21 mm inserts in the S9 Pro box and a 27 mm flange sold separately [3]. The S12 Pro support sheet lists 24 and 27 mm flanges, with inserts sold separately [4].

A poor fit changes comfort and output more than any spec above. Our flange size guide shows how to measure, and a lactation consultant can check it in person.

Does insurance cover Momcozy or Elvie?

Federal rules require non-grandfathered plans to cover breastfeeding equipment, but the plan and supplier decide which pump and what you pay [10]. Wearables are more often an upgrade. Byram says the upgrade fee is the gap between what your plan pays and the pump's price, and that it isn't reimbursable by insurance but may be payable with HSA or FSA money [8].

What suppliers say:

  • Elvie Pump. Aeroflow lists it as an upgrade [7].
  • Elvie Stride. Byram lists it among its most common upgrades, and Aeroflow says wearable pumps like Elvie are upgrade items [7][8].
  • Momcozy S12 Pro. Yummy Mummy calls it often fully covered [9].
  • Momcozy S9 Pro. Aeroflow lists it as partially covered with a small co-pay or deductible [6].
  • Momcozy M5 Smart. Yummy Mummy says an upgrade fee may apply [9].

None of those pages states a fee in dollars, and Yummy Mummy adds that coverage and fees vary by plan [9]. Ask your supplier for the exact amount in writing. Our guide to ordering a pump through insurance walks through the steps, and the 12-model coverage comparison shows how pumps sort out.

Who each brand fits

If you care about... Look at Why
A published suction number on every pump Momcozy 280 to 285 mmHg listed [4][5][6]
The lowest noise claim Elvie Pump 32 dB, the only figure under 40 [1]
App tracking Elvie Pump or Stride, or Momcozy M5 The S9 Pro and S12 Pro have no app [3][4]
Highest suction listed Elvie Stride Up to 300 mmHg, single-cup [2]
Largest collector Momcozy S9 Pro or S12 Pro 6 oz each [3][4]
A likelier no-fee route Ask about the S12 Pro first Yummy Mummy calls it often fully covered [9]

Recalls and safety

We searched FDA's device recall database on October 16, 2026 and found no entries for Momcozy or Elvie pumps [11]. We also found no CPSC recalls under either brand name. Recalls can be added at any time, so check each maker's site for your model.

Do wearables replace a regular pump?

Not for everyone. A wearable's motor is smaller, and some people with a low or still-building supply do better on a traditional pump. If your output drops, check flange fit first, then ask a lactation consultant. For regular pumps, see breast pumps compared and our Spectra vs Medela guide, and for six wearables sorted by use, our wearable pump guide.

Where to buy

If you're paying out of pocket, here are the labeled Amazon links: Momcozy S9 Pro Affiliate link, Momcozy M5 Smart Affiliate link, Elvie Pump Affiliate link and Elvie Stride Affiliate link. We found no exact Amazon match for the S12 Pro, only the separate S12 Pro Quick, so it has no link here. Check price on Amazon, and ask your supplier about an upgrade fee first.

Questions people ask

What is the difference between Momcozy and Elvie breast pumps?

On the makers' pages, Momcozy lists suction for each pump (280 to 285 mmHg) and holds 6 oz in the S9 Pro and S12 Pro. Elvie puts an app on both pumps, claims 32 dB for the Elvie Pump, and sells the Stride with cups and an outside hub. Only the M5 Smart in Momcozy's range has an app.

Is Elvie quieter than Momcozy?

On paper, yes. Elvie claims 32 dB for the Elvie Pump. Momcozy lists under 45 dB and 50 dB for the S9 Pro, 50 dB or less for the S12 Pro and under 48 dB for the M5. These are the makers' claims, and we haven't measured any of them.

Does insurance cover Momcozy or Elvie pumps?

Usually Elvie is an upgrade. Aeroflow lists the Elvie Pump as an upgrade and Byram lists the Stride among its most common upgrades. Yummy Mummy calls the Momcozy S12 Pro often fully covered, the S9 Pro is partially covered per Aeroflow, and the M5 may carry an upgrade fee. Your plan decides.

Do Momcozy and Elvie use different flange sizes?

Both default to 24 mm. Elvie ships 24 mm shields and sells 21 and 28 mm, plus 15, 17 and 19 mm cushions. Momcozy's S9 Pro lists 17, 19 and 21 mm inserts in the box and a 27 mm flange sold separately, per Momcozy. Measure first.

Which holds more milk, Momcozy or Elvie?

The Momcozy S9 Pro and S12 Pro list 6 oz (180 ml). The M5 lists 5.4 oz. The Elvie Pump holds 5 oz, and Elvie doesn't state a capacity for the Stride cups, only a weight under 5 oz each.

Have Momcozy or Elvie pumps been recalled?

We searched FDA's device recall database on October 16, 2026 and found no entries for Momcozy or Elvie pumps. We also found no CPSC recalls under either name. Recalls can be added at any time, so check each maker's site for your model.

Sources

Numbers in brackets in the guide link to these sources.

  1. 1.Elvie Pump: Ultra-Quiet, Ultra-Discreet Wearable Breast PumpElvie, 2026
  2. 2.Elvie Stride: Hospital-Grade Electric Breast PumpElvie, 2026
  3. 3.S9 Pro Wearable Breast Pump Upgraded - Long Battery LifeMomcozy, 2026
  4. 4.Detailed specifications of the S12 ProMomcozy Support, 2026
  5. 5.M5 Smart Wearable Breast PumpMomcozy, 2026
  6. 6.Momcozy S9 Pro Wearable Breast PumpAeroflow Breastpumps, 2026
  7. 7.Elvie Breast Pumps Through InsuranceAeroflow Breastpumps, 2026
  8. 8.Breast Pumps Through Insurance (FAQ)Byram Healthcare (Byram Baby), 2026
  9. 9.Momcozy Breast Pumps Through InsuranceYummy Mummy, 2026
  10. 10.Breastfeeding benefitsHealthCare.gov (U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services), 2026
  11. 11.Device Recalls (openFDA)U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA), 2026