Skip to main content

Anthem breast pump coverage: how to get one (2026)

Anthem covers one electric breast pump per pregnancy at no cost from an in-network supplier. How to order, the hospital-grade rules, and how Medicaid differs.

By The Mom Site editorial teamUpdated 10 sources5 min read

Short answer

Anthem's commercial plans cover one personal-use electric breast pump per pregnancy as preventive care, plus replacement parts and milk storage bags, when you buy from an in-network home medical equipment supplier. A hospital-grade pump is covered only in specific situations, such as a baby in the hospital. Anthem doesn't publish a commercial ordering window or prescription rule, so ask before you order.
On this page9 sections
  1. Key takeaways
  2. How to get a breast pump through Anthem, step by step
  3. What Anthem covers: the policy in plain terms
  4. Hospital-grade pumps under CG-DME-35
  5. Anthem is Blue Cross Blue Shield in 14 states
  6. Anthem Medicaid and Wellpoint plans work differently
  7. Questions Anthem doesn't answer in writing
  8. Questions people ask
  9. Sources

Key takeaways

  • Anthem's August 2026 preventive care coding guide covers one personal-use electric breast pump per pregnancy, bought from an in-network home medical equipment supplier, at no extra cost.
  • Replacement parts are covered as needed, but not in the same order as a new pump, because the pump already includes them.
  • Anthem's clinical guideline CG-DME-35 covers a hospital-grade pump only when the baby is hospitalized, has a condition that interferes with breastfeeding, or a standard pump hasn't worked.
  • Anthem is the Blue Cross or Blue Cross Blue Shield company in 14 states. Its Medicaid plans, including Wellpoint, set their own timing and limits.
  • Anthem's commercial documents don't state when you can order or whether you need a prescription, so ask your plan and supplier.

Find lactation consultants near you

7,818 listed nationwide, from federal NPI records

Yes. Anthem's commercial plans cover "one personal-use electric breast pump per pregnancy" as preventive care, plus replacement parts and milk storage bags. The catch is where you buy it: the benefit applies when the pump comes from an in-network home medical equipment supplier [2].

Anthem covers a hospital-grade pump only in specific situations, such as when your baby is in the hospital [1]. Its commercial documents don't say when you can order or whether you need a prescription. Ask both questions when you call.

The Mom Site isn't affiliated with Anthem or Elevance Health. This page is built from Anthem's published clinical guideline and preventive care coding guide, linked in the sources.

How to get a breast pump through Anthem, step by step

  1. Call the member number on your ID card, or sign in to your Anthem account. Ask whether breast pumps are covered as preventive care on your plan, and whether your plan is grandfathered.
  2. Ask for an in-network home medical equipment supplier that handles breast pumps. A pump bought anywhere else may not count as preventive care [2].
  3. Ask the supplier two things: do you need a prescription, and how early before your due date can you order? Anthem's commercial documents don't answer either one.
  4. Give the supplier your due date and your provider's name. Anthem's preventive benefit needs a pregnancy or lactation diagnosis code on the claim, so the supplier gets that information from you or your provider [2].
  5. Pick a model. Ask which double electric pumps cost $0 and which carry an upgrade fee.
  6. Reorder parts as you need them. Replacement parts are covered "as needed," but not in the same order as a new pump, because a new pump already includes its parts [2].

What Anthem covers: the policy in plain terms

Two Anthem documents set the rules. The preventive care coding guide (August 2026) covers the no-cost pump benefit [2]. Clinical UM Guideline CG-DME-35, "Electric Breast Pumps," covers medical necessity, including hospital-grade pumps. It was last reviewed May 14, 2026 and published July 1, 2026 [1].

Item Anthem's rule Source
Covered pump "One personal-use electric breast pump per pregnancy," from an in-network home medical equipment supplier [2]
Preventive pump codes E0602 (manual) and E0603 (electric) [2]
Standard electric pump Medically necessary "when there is documentation of ongoing breastfeeding" [1]
Wireless or wearable pump Billed as E1399 "when specified as a wireless or wearable breast pump." Anthem says standard pumps "can include these features" [1]
Hospital-grade pump (E0604) Only for the three situations below [1]
Replacement parts (A4281 to A4286, A4288) Covered "as needed," including tubing, valves, filters, breast shields and pump bottles [2]
Milk storage bags (A4287) Listed as covered [2]
Ordering window Not stated in Anthem's commercial documents [1][2]
Prescription Not stated in Anthem's commercial documents [1][2]

Anthem's coding guide repeats the federal standard: breastfeeding equipment includes "double electric breast pumps, pump parts and maintenance, and breast milk storage supplies" [2]. HRSA's guideline adds that access to a double electric pump shouldn't depend on first trying a manual one [4].

On timing, federal rules help you. A plan can't require you to get a pump within a set time after delivery, as long as you stay enrolled [5]. HealthCare.gov notes that plans can decide whether you get it before or after birth [6], so order as early as your plan allows.

Hospital-grade pumps under CG-DME-35

Anthem considers a heavy-duty, hospital-grade pump medically necessary in any of these cases [1]:

  • Your baby is in the hospital and breastfeeding.
  • Your baby has a medical or congenital condition that interferes with breastfeeding, such as a cleft palate or a heart, breathing or genetic condition.
  • A standard pump hasn't worked: you couldn't express enough milk after trying a manual, battery-powered or standard electric pump.

Outside those cases, Anthem calls a hospital-grade pump "not medically necessary" [1]. The guideline doesn't say how long a rental lasts or whether you need prior authorization, so ask your supplier and your provider's office.

The FDA doesn't recognize "hospital-grade" as a defined term, and it says only pumps designed for multiple users should be shared [10]. If you rent one, you need your own new accessory kit.

Anthem is Blue Cross Blue Shield in 14 states

Elevance Health, Anthem's parent company, is the Blue Cross licensee in California and the Blue Cross and Blue Shield licensee in 13 more states [3]:

  • Blue Cross: California
  • Blue Cross and Blue Shield: Colorado, Connecticut, Georgia, Indiana, Kentucky, Maine, Missouri (except 30 counties in the Kansas City area), Nevada, New Hampshire, New York (the New York City area and upstate), Ohio, Virginia (except the Northern Virginia suburbs of Washington, D.C.) and Wisconsin

If your card says Blue Cross Blue Shield and you live somewhere else, a different company runs your plan. Our guide to Blue Cross Blue Shield breast pump coverage covers the other Blue plans.

Anthem Medicaid and Wellpoint plans work differently

Elevance also serves members in other states under the Wellpoint name [3], and runs Medicaid plans under the Anthem name in some of its Blue states, such as Indiana and Virginia [7][8]. These Medicaid plans follow state rules and set their own timing and limits. Three examples from plan documents:

Plan Pump When it ships How to order
Anthem Medicaid, Indiana (2026) Electric, non-hospital-grade, at no cost Request within 90 days of your due date. It ships 30 days before, or within 48 hours if you've already delivered Plan order form [7]
Anthem HealthKeepers Plus, Virginia Electric, non-hospital-grade Up to 30 days before delivery, or once the baby is born Edgepark, using a plan form "in place of a prescription" [8]
Wellpoint, Washington Selected Medela, Spectra, Ameda, Ardo, Lansinoh, Freemie and Motif models After the plan or Edgepark is told the baby has been born. Limit of one pump per member, per lifetime Edgepark, 855-504-2099 [9]

Your state's Medicaid program sets the baseline. See Medicaid breast pump coverage by state, and call the member number on your Medicaid card for your plan's process.

Questions Anthem doesn't answer in writing

Anthem's published documents leave these open. Ask before you order:

  • How early can I order? No commercial ordering window is published.
  • Do I need a prescription? Neither commercial document says.
  • How long can I rent a hospital-grade pump, and does it need prior authorization? CG-DME-35 doesn't say [1].
  • How often can I reorder parts and bags? Anthem says "as needed" and publishes no number [2].
  • Which models are $0? Compare specs in breast pumps covered by insurance before you call.

For lactation visits, Anthem's coding guide lists breastfeeding counseling and lactation classes as preventive services [2]. Find a lactation consultant, or read whether insurance covers lactation consultants.

Comparing plans? See how to get a pump through Cigna, the UnitedHealthcare breast pump rules, or our main guide to getting a breast pump through insurance.

Questions people ask

Does Anthem cover breast pumps at 100%?

Most Anthem commercial plans cover one personal-use electric pump per pregnancy as preventive care, with no cost sharing, when you buy it from an in-network home medical equipment supplier. Grandfathered plans may not, and upgrade models can cost extra.

How do I get a free breast pump through Anthem?

Call the member number on your ID card or sign in to your Anthem account, ask for an in-network home medical equipment supplier that handles breast pumps, and order through that supplier. Ask whether you need a prescription.

Does Anthem cover a hospital-grade breast pump?

Only in certain cases. Anthem's guideline covers one when your baby is in the hospital, has a medical or congenital condition that interferes with breastfeeding, or when a manual, battery or standard electric pump hasn't expressed enough milk.

Does Anthem cover wearable breast pumps?

Anthem's guideline recognizes wireless and wearable pumps and says standard pumps can include those features. Whether yours costs $0 or carries an upgrade fee depends on your plan and supplier, so ask before you order.

Is Anthem the same as Blue Cross Blue Shield?

In 14 states, yes. Anthem is the Blue Cross licensee in California and the Blue Cross and Blue Shield licensee in 13 other states. Elsewhere, a different company runs the Blue Cross Blue Shield plan.

Does Anthem Medicaid or Wellpoint cover breast pumps?

The plans we checked do, but the rules differ from commercial plans. Anthem's Indiana Medicaid ships an electric pump 30 days before your due date, while Wellpoint in Washington ships only after the baby is born and limits members to one pump per lifetime.

Sources

Numbers in brackets in the guide link to these sources.

  1. 1.Electric Breast Pumps, Clinical UM Guideline CG-DME-35 (publish date 07/01/2026)Anthem (Elevance Health), 2026
  2. 2.ACA preventive care coding guidelines (MULTI-BCBS-CM-019311-26-GRP5084, August 2026)Anthem Blue Cross and Blue Shield, 2026
  3. 3.Elevance Health Form 10-K for the fiscal year ended December 31, 2024U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (EDGAR), 2025
  4. 4.Women's Preventive Services GuidelinesHealth Resources and Services Administration (HRSA), 2025
  5. 5.FAQs about Affordable Care Act Implementation (Part XXIX)U.S. Departments of Labor, Health and Human Services, and the Treasury, 2015
  6. 6.Breastfeeding benefitsHealthCare.gov (Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services)
  7. 7.Breast Pump Program flyer, Indiana Medicaid (1089061INMENABS, January 2026)Anthem Blue Cross and Blue Shield (Indiana Medicaid), 2026
  8. 8.Electric, Nonhospital Grade Breast Pump Request Form (Anthem HealthKeepers Plus)Anthem HealthKeepers Plus (Virginia Medicaid), 2022
  9. 9.Quick Tips: Women's Health (WAWP-CD-030346-23)Wellpoint (Washington Apple Health), 2023
  10. 10.Buying and Renting a Breast PumpU.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA)