The Mom Site ยท themomsite.com/gear/graco-car-seats/
On this page11 sections
- Key takeaways
- How long is a Graco car seat good for?
- Graco car seat lines: expiration, weight and height limits
- Where is the expiration date on a Graco car seat?
- Which SnugRide base fits which Graco infant seat?
- Graco car seat weight limits and the LATCH limit
- Graco car seat recalls
- How to install a Graco car seat
- Register your Graco seat
- Questions people ask
- Sources
Key takeaways
- Graco sets useful life at 7 years for plastic-reinforced belt paths (SnugRide infant seats, Contender) and 10 years for steel-reinforced belt paths and boosters. Count from the date of manufacture on the label [1][5][6].
- Weight limits run 4 to 30 pounds for SnugRide infant seats and up to 40 or 50 pounds rear-facing for Graco's convertibles and all-in-ones [6][9][10].
- Any SnugRide infant seat fits any SnugRide base in the Lite, SnugFit or SnugLock families, per Graco's April 2026 chart. The GoMax seat and base are a separate pair [8].
- NHTSA records show 8 Graco child seat recall campaigns since 2010, from harness buckles (2014) to the 2026 SnugRide Turn & Slide carrier recall [12][14].
- Register the seat so Graco can reach you, and check your model number against NHTSA's recall search [1][13].
A Graco car seat is good for 7 or 10 years from the date it was made, not the date you bought it. Graco's SnugRide infant seats and its Contender convertibles are 7 years. Its steel-reinforced all-in-ones, such as the 4Ever, Extend2Fit, SlimFit3 and TriRide, and its boosters are 10 [1][2][5][6].
Below: lifespan and size limits for each current line, how to find the date, which SnugRide bases fit which seats, every Graco recall we found in NHTSA's records, and install basics. For other brands, see our car seat expiration guide.
How long is a Graco car seat good for?
Graco defines useful life as 10 years for belt-positioning boosters and steel-reinforced belt path seats, and 7 years for plastic-reinforced belt path seats [1]. The math is simple: date of manufacture plus useful life. A steel-reinforced booster made March 15, 2020 expires March 15, 2030 [1].
Graco's pages for each seat print the same rule: "STOP using this child restraint and throw it away" 7 or 10 years after the date of manufacture [2][3][4][5][6]. Graco recommends not using a seat past that date, because of wear, changing regulations and changing safety technology [1].
Graco car seat lines: expiration, weight and height limits
Every value below comes from Graco's own product page for that seat. Graco's pages list the child limits for each mode; the seat's label and manual are the final word.
| Seat | Type | Rear-facing | Forward-facing (harness) | Booster | Expires after |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| SnugRide Lite LX [6] | Infant, rear-facing only | 4 to 30 lb, up to 32 in | n/a | n/a | 7 years |
| SnugRide SnugFit DLX [5] | Infant, rear-facing only | 4 to 30 lb, up to 32 in | n/a | n/a | 7 years |
| Contender Slim [4] | Convertible | 5 to 40 lb | 26.5 to 65 lb, up to 49 in | n/a | 7 years |
| Extend2Fit convertible [9] | Convertible | 4 to 50 lb | 26.5 to 65 lb, up to 49 in | n/a | 10 years |
| SlimFit3 LX [11] | 3-in-1 | 5 to 40 lb | 26.5 to 65 lb, up to 49 in | Highback 40 to 100 lb | 10 years |
| TriRide [2] | 3-in-1 | 5 to 40 lb | 26.5 to 65 lb, up to 49 in | Highback 40 to 100 lb | 10 years |
| 4Ever DLX [10] | 4-in-1 | 4 to 40 lb | 26.5 to 65 lb, up to 49 in | Highback 40 to 100 lb; backless 40 to 120 lb | 10 years |
| TurboBooster 2.0 [3] | Booster | n/a | n/a | Highback or backless, 40 to 100 lb, 43 to 57 in, age 4+ | 10 years |
A few notes on reading it:
- Rear-facing seats also have a head-room rule. On Graco's all-in-ones the child's head must be at least 1 inch below the handle or headrest adjustment handle [2][4][10].
- Booster modes also carry a minimum age of 4 years [2][3][10].
- Graco's expiration page uses the Contender 65 as its 7-year example. The Contender Slim, listed above, carries the same 7-year rule [1][4].
Four of these seats side by side, with the maker's own spec lines:
| Model | Child weight | Child height | Carrier weight | Installs | Rebound or load leg | Where to buy |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Graco SnugRide Lite LXRear-facing infant seat with base | 4 to 30 lb | Up to 32 in | 7.5 lb without base (spec list) | Base with LATCH or seat belt; baseless install not stated on product page | Not published | Check on AmazonAffiliate link |
| Graco Extend2FitConvertible (harness only) | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Check on AmazonAffiliate link |
| Graco 4Ever DLXAll-in-one (4 modes) | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Check on AmazonAffiliate link |
| Graco SlimFit3 LXAll-in-one (3 modes) | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Check on AmazonAffiliate link |
Choosing between an infant seat and a convertible? Our infant vs convertible comparison covers it, and our infant seat picks and convertible seat picks show other brands.
Where is the expiration date on a Graco car seat?
Each Graco seat has its date of manufacture (DOM) on one of its labels. The useful life is stamped into the plastic, and the manual says the same. Both read "Do not use this child restraint," and refer to a 10-year or 7-year life [1].
Your steps:
- Turn the seat over or look on the back and sides of the shell for the white label with the model number and DOM.
- Find the stamped "do not use" line to confirm 7 or 10 years.
- Add the years to the DOM.
Can't find it? Graco's customer service line, 1-800-345-4109, staffs certified child passenger safety technicians who can help read the date [1]. Once a seat expires, Graco says to stop using it, make sure no one else can use it, and replace it [1].
Which SnugRide base fits which Graco infant seat?
Graco publishes a compatibility chart (April 2026). It says it supersedes any individual product's instruction manual [8]. The short version:
- Any SnugRide infant seat (the SnugRide Lite, SnugFit and SnugLock families) fits the SnugRide Lite, SnugRide SnugFit and SnugRide SnugLock bases, the SnugLock base with load leg technology, and Graco Premier bases [8].
- Graco Premier seats come with bases that aren't sold separately [8].
- GoMax is its own pair. The GoMax infant seat fits only the GoMax base, and SnugRide seats don't fit the GoMax base [8].
- Strollers: SnugRide seats click into Graco's Modes, DuoGlider, FastAction, Merge, Verb, Ready2Grow and other listed strollers. Some have limits, such as rear seat only on the DuoGlider and Ready2Grow [8].
That means a second base for the other car is a straightforward buy, as long as it's a SnugRide family base.
Graco car seat weight limits and the LATCH limit
Child weight and height limits are in the table above. Separate from those, the lower anchors (LATCH) have their own limit.
NHTSA says the lower anchor limit is on the seat's warning label or installation diagrams. If a seat has no label, subtract the car seat's weight from 65 pounds [13]. As an example only, a 4Ever DLX weighs 23 pounds, which leaves 42 pounds of child for lower anchor use [10][13]. Past the limit, reinstall with the vehicle seat belt [13].
Graco car seat recalls
We searched NHTSA's recall records on October 16, 2026 and found eight child seat campaigns for Graco since 2010 [12]. This is the list we found, not a promise there are no others. Check your own model on NHTSA's recall search.
| Campaign | Year | Seats | Issue | Units |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 14C-001 | 2014 | Toddler and booster seats, model years 2009 to 2013 (Cozy Cline, Comfort Sport, Classic Ride 50, My Ride 65 and 70, Size4Me 70, Smart Seat, Nautilus, Argos 70) | Harness buckle can stick latched | 4,176,601 |
| 14C-004 | 2014 | Infant seats made July 2010 to May 2013 (SnugRide, SnugRide 30 and 35, Classic Connect, Click Connect 40, Aprica A30) | Harness buckle can stick latched | 1,910,102 |
| 15C-001 | 2015 | ComfortSport, Ready Ride, Classic Ride made March 2014 to February 2015 | Label missing manual-location statement | 31,838 |
| 15C-004 | 2015 | Milestone | Label missing LATCH or seat belt wording | 8,240 |
| 16C-002 | 2016 | Extend2Fit Convertible made Nov 2015 to Jan 2016 | Recline label in the wrong place | 15,064 |
| 16C-004 | 2016 | TurboBooster made Dec 2015 to April 2016 | Instructions missing "belt it even when empty" | 20,505 |
| 17C-001 | 2017 | My Ride 65 | Webbing may not adequately restrain child | 25,494 |
| 26C-003 | 2026 | SnugRide Turn & Slide and Modes Nest travel systems with that seat | Infant carrier may detach from the base in a crash | 5,126 |
Sources for every row: NHTSA recall records [12]; the 2026 campaign also has Graco's Part 573 report [14].
What the fixes were: replacement buckles for 14C-001 and 14C-004, corrected labels or instructions for 15C-001, 15C-004, 16C-002 and 16C-004, a replacement harness for 17C-001, and a replacement seat for 26C-003. All were free [12]. For 26C-003, owners are told to install with the vehicle seat belt and no base until the replacement arrives [12].
Not affected by the 2026 recall: the SnugRide Lite LX and SnugFit seats. The recall covers the rotating Turn & Slide only [12][14]. Graco's recall line is 1-800-345-4109 [12].
Every Graco campaign with its official link is on our Graco car seat recalls page, and every brand's are on car seat recalls.
How to install a Graco car seat
Always follow the manual that came with your seat and your vehicle owner's manual [13]. The basics:
- Pick the position. Back seat. Rear-facing for infants and for as long as the seat's limits allow.
- Pick lower anchors or the seat belt. Don't use both unless both manuals allow it. Check the lower anchor limit first.
- Check the angle. Graco's infant bases have a level indicator and 4 or 5 recline positions [6][7]. Convertibles show a recline level too.
- Tighten. Graco's SnugLock technology on SnugFit and SnugLock seats installs with the seat belt or LATCH [5][7].
- Forward-facing, use the top tether. NHTSA recommends always using it when both manuals allow [13].
- Check the harness and head room. The harness should be snug, and the head-room rule in the manual should be met.
Have it checked. NHTSA lists inspection stations where certified technicians check your seat, free in most cases, and some offer virtual inspections. Use the locator on NHTSA's car seat page [13]. For legal requirements in your state, see our car seat laws guide.
Register your Graco seat
Registering is how Graco notifies you of a recall. Graco offers three ways: mail the card on the front of the seat, call 1-800-345-4109, or register online at gracobaby.com [1]. Do it the day you open the box.
Weighing Graco against another brand? Compare it in Graco vs Evenflo, or read our Chicco car seat guide.
Comparing Graco with other brands? See Britax vs Graco, Safety 1st vs Graco and Graco Turn2Me vs Evenflo Revolve360.
Questions people ask
How long is a Graco car seat good for?
Seven or ten years from the date of manufacture, depending on the seat. Graco defines useful life as 10 years for belt-positioning boosters and steel-reinforced belt path seats, and 7 years for plastic-reinforced belt path seats such as the Contender [1].
How long is a Graco infant car seat good for?
Seven years. Graco's SnugRide SnugFit DLX, SnugRide Lite LX and SnugFit base pages all say to stop using the seat or base and throw it away 7 years after the date of manufacture [5][6][7].
Is the Graco expiration date counted from when I bought the seat?
No. It's counted from the date of manufacture on the seat's label. A seat that sat in a warehouse for a year has a year less on it [1].
Where is the expiration date on a Graco car seat?
Each Graco seat has a date of manufacture on one of its labels, and the useful-life rule is stamped into the plastic. Check the manual too [1].
What is the weight limit on a Graco car seat?
It depends on the seat. SnugRide infant seats are 4 to 30 pounds and up to 32 inches. Graco's convertibles and all-in-ones go up to 40 or 50 pounds rear-facing, 65 pounds forward-facing with a harness, and up to 100 or 120 pounds as boosters [6][9][10].
How do I check for a Graco car seat recall?
Find the model number and date on the seat's label, then search it on NHTSA's recall page or call Graco at 1-800-345-4109. Registering the seat lets Graco notify you directly [1][13].
Sources
Numbers in brackets in the guide link to these sources.
- 1.Car Seat ExpirationGraco, 2026
- 2.TriRide 3-in-1 Car SeatGraco, 2026
- 3.TurboBooster 2.0 Highback BoosterGraco, 2026
- 4.Contender Slim Convertible Car SeatGraco, 2026
- 5.SnugRide SnugFit DLX Infant Car SeatGraco, 2026
- 6.SnugRide Lite LX Infant Car SeatGraco, 2026
- 7.SnugRide SnugFit Infant Car Seat BaseGraco, 2026
- 8.Stroller, Infant Car Seat and Base Compatibility (April 2026)Graco, 2026
- 9.Extend2Fit Convertible Car SeatGraco, 2026
- 10.4Ever DLX 4-in-1 Car SeatGraco, 2026
- 11.SlimFit3 LX 3-in-1 Car SeatGraco, 2026
- 12.Child seat recall records, Graco Children's Products (campaigns 14C-001, 14C-004, 15C-001, 15C-004, 16C-002, 16C-004, 17C-001, 26C-003)National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA), 2026
- 13.Car Seats and Booster Seats (lower anchor weight limits, inspection stations)National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA), 2026
- 14.Part 573 Safety Recall Report 26C-003 (Graco SnugRide Turn & Slide)National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA), 2026


