The Mom Site ยท themomsite.com/gear/bob-vs-thule-jogging-strollers/
On this page9 sections
Key takeaways
- Weight: the Urban Glide 3 is 26.2 lb and the Alterrain Pro is 32.3 lb. Both fold with one hand and stand when folded [1][3].
- Capacity isn't stated the same way. Thule lists a 49 lb child limit (75 lb total stroller capacity). BOB lists 75 lb as child plus luggage [1][3][5].
- Running age is the makers' call. Thule recommends at least 6 months before running, and BOB says jogging and off-road use starts at 8 months in the stroller seat [3][4].
- For two children, the Urban Glide 3 double is 35.3 lb with 49 lb per seat. The BOB Revolution Flex 3.0 Duallie is 33.1 lb with 50 lb per seat [2][5].
- BOB jogging strollers sold through September 2015 were the subject of a 2018 CPSC lawsuit that ended in a settlement, not a recall. Thule recalled its Sleek stroller in 2020. We found no recall of the current models [6][7][8][9].
At a glance
BOB Gear Alterrain Pro
Suits: Runners and hikers who want a high weight capacity, a tool-free front wheel and a big-tire ride.
- Strength: 75 lb capacity (child plus luggage), children up to 44 in
- Strength: 12 in front and 16 in rear air-filled tires with suspension
- Strength: Tool-free front wheel installation and adjustable front wheel tracking
- Trade-off: 32.3 lb, 6 lb heavier than the Urban Glide 3
- Trade-off: Maker says jog from 8 months in the seat, two months later than Thule
- Trade-off: Folded size is 39.3 x 25.5 x 16 in with wheels on
Thule Urban Glide 3
Suits: Parents who want a lighter, smaller-folding stroller for both daily errands and runs.
- Strength: 26.2 lb
- Strength: Folds to 34.6 x 22.8 x 12.2 in and stands on its own
- Strength: Cargo basket holds 15 lb; bassinet and car seat adapters available
- Trade-off: 49 lb child limit
- Trade-off: Bassinet and car seat adapters are sold separately
- Trade-off: Maker says wait until 6 months before running
The Thule Urban Glide 3 is the lighter, smaller-folding stroller, and the BOB Alterrain Pro is the heavier one with the higher capacity [1][3]. That is the short version of this pairing. The details that matter to a runner are the ages each maker allows, the weight limits, and the recall history.
We don't test strollers or name a winner, and running guidance here comes only from the makers. Talk to your pediatrician before you run with a baby. Both strollers must meet the federal stroller rule, 16 CFR part 1227 [10].
BOB vs Thule: single strollers side by side
| Spec | BOB Alterrain Pro | Thule Urban Glide 3 |
|---|---|---|
| Weight | 32.3 lb | 26.2 lb |
| Folded | 39.3 x 25.5 x 16 in, wheels on; 33 x 21.5 x 13 in, wheels off | 34.6 x 22.8 x 12.2 in |
| Capacity | 75 lb, child plus luggage; children up to 44 in | 49 lb child; 75 lb total stroller capacity |
| Basket | Zip-top; weight limit not stated | Zip-top; 15 lb |
| Tires | 12 in front, 16 in rear, air-filled | 16 in air-filled, swivel front that locks |
| Brake | Hand brake, plus parking brake | Twist hand brake |
| Car seat adapters | Britax, Chicco, Peg Perego, Graco | Maxi-Cosi, universal/Chicco; sold separately |
| Model | Stroller weight | Folded size | Max child weight | Seat recline | From birth | Wheels and suspension | Where to buy |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| BOB Gear Alterrain ProJogging stroller | 32.3 lb | 39.3 x 25.5 x 16 in with wheels on; 33 x 21.5 x 13 in with wheels off | 75 lb, up to 44 in | Near-flat recline, one hand | Walking use; maker says jogging and off-road from 8 months in the stroller seat | 12 in front and 16 in rear air-filled tires; SmoothShox suspension | Check on AmazonAffiliate link |
| Thule Urban Glide 3All-terrain jogging stroller (single) | 26.2 lb | 34.6 x 22.8 x 12.2 in; stands on its own when folded | 49 lb (stroller capacity 75 lb; cargo basket 15 lb) | Adjustable recline with built-in leg rest | With the Thule bassinet or an infant car seat adapter (sold separately); Thule says wait until 6 months to run | 16 in air-filled tires; swivel front wheel that locks; suspension | Check on AmazonAffiliate link |
Don't compare the capacity numbers as if they mean the same thing. BOB's 75 lb includes your cargo [5]. Thule's 49 lb is the child alone, and its 75 lb is the stroller's total [1]. For a bigger child, the practical limit on both is the child and the height.
Running age and newborns
Thule says it recommends a minimum age of six months before running with a child [4]. BOB says the Alterrain Pro stroller seat is for walking only from 8 weeks, and for jogging and off-road use from 8 months [3]. That is a two-month gap in the makers' own guidance. Follow the label on your stroller and your pediatrician's advice, not the earlier of the two numbers.
For babies younger than that, both brands are walking strollers. Thule says the Urban Glide 3 can be used from birth with its bassinet or an infant car seat adapter, sold separately [1]. BOB's comparison guide says to never run or jog with an infant or an infant car seat attached [5]. If you want a travel system for a newborn, see our car seat and stroller combo guide.
Double jogging strollers
| Spec | BOB Revolution Flex 3.0 Duallie | Thule Urban Glide 3 double |
|---|---|---|
| Weight | 33.1 lb | 35.3 lb |
| Capacity | 50 lb per seat; 100 lb child plus luggage | 49 lb per seat; 100 lb total stroller capacity |
| Folded | 40 x 30.5 x 17.5 in, wheels on | 34.6 x 31.1 x 13.4 in |
Sources: BOB's comparison guide and Thule's product page [2][5].
| Model | Stroller weight | Folded size | Max child weight | Seat recline | From birth | Wheels and suspension | Where to buy |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| BOB Gear Revolution Flex 3.0 DuallieJogging stroller (double) | 33.1 lb | 40 x 30.5 x 17.5 in (wheels on) | 50 lb per seat (child plus luggage capacity 100 lb) | Not stated on the comparison guide | Not stated on the comparison guide; BOB advises against running with an infant or infant seat attached | Not stated on the comparison guide | Check on AmazonAffiliate link |
| Thule Urban Glide 3 doubleAll-terrain jogging stroller (double) | 35.3 lb | 34.6 x 31.1 x 13.4 in | 49 lb per seat (stroller capacity 100 lb) | Individually adjusted seats | Can be used from day one with Thule accessories; Thule says wait until 6 months to run | Air-filled tires; swivel front wheel that locks; suspension | Check on AmazonAffiliate link |
The Thule double is 2.2 lb heavier but folds 4.1 inches lower. The BOB folds taller and longer, and BOB's page says it fits through standard doorways [5]. BOB's guide does not give tire sizes, seat recline or a from-birth rule for the Duallie, so check its user guide before you compare those.
Recalls and safety
These are the recalls we found in CPSC's database on October 16, 2026. They are not a promise about every recall:
- BOB: In 2018, CPSC sued Britax over the front-wheel quick release on BOB joggers imported from 1997 through September 2015, saying the wheel can fail to stay on the fork. It settled with an information campaign and offers of a modified part or discount, and the settlement was not an admission by Britax or a CPSC finding of a defect [6]. Related recalls: modified thru-bolt axles distributed in 2019 (19-763) and BOB Motion strollers with Click and Go car seat receivers in 2017 (17-088) [7][8].
- Thule: Sleek strollers in 2020, because the handlebar can detach (20-164) [9]. The Sleek is a different stroller from the Urban Glide 3.
We found no recall of the Alterrain Pro, Revolution Flex 3.0, Urban Glide 3 or Urban Glide 3 double. Before you buy used, check the model and date at SaferProducts.gov and our stroller recall tracker. If a BOB is from before October 2015, find out whether the quick release was modified. On any jogger, lock the front wheel when you run, use the wrist strap and the harness, and check the front wheel is seated before every outing.
Who each fits
The BOB Alterrain Pro fits you if:
- You want a higher weight capacity and plan on using it past the toddler years.
- You value a tool-free front wheel and adjustable tracking.
- You don't mind an extra 6 lb on the stairs.
The Thule Urban Glide 3 fits you if:
- You want one lighter stroller for daily errands and runs.
- You need a smaller fold for a car trunk.
- You want the option of a bassinet or car seat adapter.
Where to buy
Both brands sell on Amazon. These are affiliate links: Check price on Amazon for the Alterrain Pro Affiliate link, for the Urban Glide 3 Affiliate link, for the Revolution Flex 3.0 Duallie Affiliate link or for the Urban Glide 3 double Affiliate link. For everyday strollers, see our stroller guide and the Cruz vs Vista comparison.
Questions people ask
Is BOB or Thule better for running?
The makers' specs split on weight and fold: the Urban Glide 3 is 26.2 lb and the Alterrain Pro is 32.3 lb. Thule also makes the Glide 3, which it describes as made specifically for running, with a fixed front wheel. Choose by the weight you will push and the terrain.
How old does a baby need to be to go running in a BOB or Thule stroller?
Thule says it recommends a minimum age of six months before running. BOB says jogging and off-road use starts at 8 months in the stroller seat, with walking only from 8 weeks. Talk to your pediatrician before running with a baby.
Can you use a BOB or Thule jogging stroller from birth?
For walking, yes, with accessories. Thule says the Urban Glide 3 can be used from birth with its bassinet or an infant car seat adapter, sold separately. BOB lists car seat adapters for Britax, Chicco, Peg Perego and Graco, and says to never run or jog with an infant seat attached.
BOB vs Thule double: which is lighter?
The BOB Revolution Flex 3.0 Duallie is 33.1 lb, and the Thule Urban Glide 3 double is 35.3 lb. Thule's double allows 49 lb per seat, and BOB's allows 50 lb per seat. The Thule folds to 34.6 x 31.1 x 13.4 in and the BOB to 40 x 30.5 x 17.5 in.
Has BOB been recalled?
CPSC sued Britax in 2018 over the front-wheel quick release on BOB joggers made from 1997 through September 2015, and settled with an information campaign, with no admission and no recall. Separate recalls covered BOB Motion strollers with Click and Go car seat receivers (2017) and modified thru-bolt axles (2019).
Has Thule been recalled?
Thule recalled about 4,000 Sleek strollers in 2020 because the handlebar can detach, and Sleek car seat adapters the same year. We found no recall of the Urban Glide 3 on October 16, 2026.
Sources
Numbers in brackets in the guide link to these sources.
- 1.Thule Urban Glide 3Thule, 2026
- 2.Thule Urban Glide 3 doubleThule, 2026
- 3.Alterrain ProBOB Gear, 2026
- 4.Everything you need to know about jogging strollersThule, 2026
- 5.Which BOB Gear Jogging Stroller Is Best for My Family? A Stroller Comparison GuideBOB Gear, 2024
- 6.CPSC, Britax Settle Lawsuit Involving BOB Jogging Strollers (release 19-037)U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission (CPSC), 2018
- 7.Britax Recalls Modified Thru-Bolt Axles for Use with BOB Jogging Strollers (19-763)U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission (CPSC), 2019
- 8.Britax Recalls Strollers Due to Fall Hazard (17-088)U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission (CPSC), 2017
- 9.Thule Recalls Strollers Due to Injury Hazard (20-164)U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission (CPSC), 2020
- 10.Carriages and Strollers (16 CFR part 1227 business guidance)U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission (CPSC), 2026




