The Mom Site ยท themomsite.com/gear/best-high-chairs/
On this page7 sections
Key takeaways
- High chairs must meet 16 CFR 1231, which adopts ASTM F404-21. Hook-on chairs have their own rule, 16 CFR 1233, which adopts ASTM F1235-25 [2][3].
- The AAP says babies are ready to sit in a high chair for solids when they can hold their head up, usually around 6 months [1].
- Fold flat, dishwasher-safe tray and a harness are the three specs that decide day-to-day use. Sizes and tray care differ a lot between the five picks.
- None of the six has a CPSC recall in the searches we ran. Stokke's 2022 recall covered a different chair, the Clikk, and CPSC recalled many online-only chairs in 2025 for breaking the federal rule [4][10].
- Skip no-name chairs with no US maker, manual or registration card, since those were the ones CPSC pulled for failing the standard.
Every high chair sold in the US has to meet a federal safety standard, so the right one is the one that fits your kitchen, your routine and how long you want to use it [2]. The picks below are sorted by that situation, not ranked.
Quick picks:
- Grows with your child: Stokke Tripp Trapp
- Compact fold, one hand: Graco Slim Snacker
- Small kitchens, folds flat: Joovy Nook
- Easy to clean, converts to a booster: Ingenuity SmartClean Trio Elite
- Travel and restaurants: Chicco Caddy hook-on chair
- Smallest footprint, floor to table: Summer Pop 'N Sit
Registering for gear? Our baby registry checklist shows where a high chair fits, and the newborn checklist covers what you need first. You won't need a high chair until solid foods start around 6 months, so it's a good one to buy later [1].
The specs side by side
Each value links to the maker's page. We don't list prices.
| Model | Starts at | Grows with | Includes | Where to buy |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Stokke Tripp TrappWooden grow-with-me high chair | 6 months, with the Baby Set | Child through childhood and beyond; Baby Set removes | Chair, Baby Set, Harness | Check on AmazonAffiliate link |
| Graco Slim SnackerFolding high chair | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Check on AmazonAffiliate link |
| Joovy NookFolding high chair | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Check on AmazonAffiliate link |
| Ingenuity SmartClean Trio Elite3-in-1 high chair, booster and toddler seat | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Check on AmazonAffiliate link |
| Chicco Caddy Portable Hook-On ChairPortable hook-on chair | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Check on AmazonAffiliate link |
| Summer Pop 'N Sit Portable BoosterPortable floor and booster seat | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Check on AmazonAffiliate link |
The picks, by use
Recall status comes from CPSC searches on October 16, 2026. Recalls can be added at any time, so check the CPSC recall page after you buy [4].
Grows with your child: Stokke Tripp Trapp
Stokke says the Tripp Trapp works from 6 months with its Baby Set, and that the chair grows with your child through childhood and beyond once you remove the Baby Set [5]. It's a wooden chair, sold in a bundle with the Baby Set and harness [5]. It doesn't fold, so it takes up the same floor space whether you're using it or not.
Recall check: We found no CPSC recall for the Tripp Trapp. Stokke's 2022 recall (22-113) covered about 790 white Clikk high chairs made in December 2020, a different model [10].
Not for: Anyone short on space or on a tight budget. It's a fixed wooden chair with no tray in the basic bundle, so check which accessories you're getting before you buy [5].
Check price on Amazon Affiliate link. Also sold on Stokke's site.
Compact fold, one hand: Graco Slim Snacker
Graco's Slim Snacker has a one-hand, one-second fold and stands on its own when folded [11]. It's rated up to 3 years and 40 pounds, with a convertible 3- and 5-point harness, three recline positions, a footrest and a wipeable seat pad [11]. Assembled, it's 35.35 inches wide, 40.75 tall and 24 deep, and weighs 14.2 pounds [11].
Recall check: We found no CPSC recall for the Slim Snacker. Graco's 2018 highchair recall (18-112) covered one other model, the Table2Table 6-in-1 [12].
Not for: Anyone who wants a dishwasher-safe tray. Graco's page points to the manual for tray cleaning; the seat pad wipes clean or machine-washes in cold water [11].
Check price on Amazon Affiliate link. Also sold at Walmart.
Small kitchens, folds flat: Joovy Nook
The Nook goes from 6 months to 50 pounds and folds flat to 9 inches tall, 23.5 inches wide and 28.5 inches long [6]. Set up, it's 41 inches tall and weighs 15 pounds [6]. The tray swings open with one hand, has four positions and a dishwasher-safe insert, and the seat is a leatherette cover that wipes clean [6].
Recall check: We found no CPSC recall for Joovy high chairs.
Not for: Babies who need to recline. This is the original Nook, which sits upright. Joovy sells a separate Nook NB with a reclining seat [6].
Check price on Amazon Affiliate link. Also sold at Babylist and Joovy's site.
Easy to clean, converts to a booster: Ingenuity SmartClean Trio Elite
This chair is made for mess. The EasyClean tray is dishwasher safe, the seat insert is removable EVA foam, and the whole seat wipes clean [7]. It has an adjustable 5-point harness with three shoulder heights, a seat that reclines at the push of a button, and wheels [7]. It converts three ways: high chair, chair-top booster and toddler seat, for ages 6 to 60 months and up to 50 pounds [7].
Recall check: We found no CPSC recall for the SmartClean Trio Elite or other Ingenuity high chairs.
Not for: Small spaces. Kids2 lists it as 43.31 inches tall and 35.04 inches wide when assembled, and its page doesn't describe a fold [7].
Check price on Amazon Affiliate link.
Travel and restaurants: Chicco Caddy hook-on chair
The Caddy clamps to a table and weighs 4.9 pounds, so you can carry it in a diaper bag or tote. It holds children up to 37 pounds, folds to 14 by 14 by 5 inches, and has a 3-point harness and a machine-washable seat cover [8]. It fits tables 0.75 to 1.5 inches thick, with skirts up to 5.5 inches [8].
Hook-on chairs fall under their own federal rule, 16 CFR 1233 [3]. The chair only works on the right table. Chicco says not to use it on glass, loose or leaf tabletops, card tables, single-pedestal tables, or with a tablecloth or placemat, and never to lock it onto a table with your child in it [8].
Recall check: We found no CPSC recall for the Caddy. CPSC did recall other hook-on chairs in 2025 and 2026 (25316 and 26502) for failing the federal standard [4].
Not for: Daily meals. It's meant for visits, restaurants and travel.
Check price on Amazon Affiliate link. Also sold at Target and on Chicco's site.
Smallest footprint, floor to table: Summer Pop 'N Sit
The Pop 'N Sit is a portable booster with three modes: floor seat, feeding seat with a removable tray, and toddler booster that straps to an adult chair [9]. Summer lists it for about 6 months to 3 years or up to 37 pounds, with a 3-point harness [9]. The tray is dishwasher safe, the seat wipes clean, and it folds to 15 by 13.5 by 14.75 inches [9].
Recall check: We found no CPSC recall for the Pop 'N Sit.
Not for: Babies who can't sit with support yet. A floor seat gives less back and head support than a full high chair, so wait until your baby can sit with good head control [1].
Check price on Amazon Affiliate link.
How to choose a high chair
Start with space. Measure your kitchen. The Nook folds flat to 9 inches, and the Tripp Trapp and SmartClean take floor space permanently [5][6][7].
Check the tray. A dishwasher-safe tray insert saves daily scrubbing. Look for one the maker states is dishwasher safe, not just "easy to clean" [6][7][9].
Look at the harness. The federal standard requires a restraint system [2]. Pick one you'll buckle every time, and read how it adjusts as your child grows.
Think about years of use. Weight limits here run from 37 to 50 pounds, and the Tripp Trapp is built to outlast the baby years [5][6][7][8][9].
Skip chairs with no US maker. In 2025 and 2026 CPSC recalled many online-only convertible high chairs for fall and entrapment hazards and for violating the high chair rule [4]. Buy from a maker with a manual, a registration card and a US customer service line.
Safety basics
Wait for readiness. The AAP says babies need good head control and the ability to sit in a high chair or feeding seat before starting solids, and that each child's timing varies [1].
Buckle every time, and never leave your child alone in the chair. Use the harness even when the tray is on.
Register your chair so the maker can reach you, and look it up on the CPSC recall page [4].
Buy new when you can. If money is tight, see our guide to free baby stuff, and check any used chair against recalls first.
Still shopping for the newborn months? See our bottle picks and bassinet picks.
Check any chair, new or used, against high chair recalls.
Questions people ask
When can a baby use a high chair?
When they can hold their head up and sit with support. The AAP says a baby should be able to sit in a high chair, feeding seat or infant seat with good head control before starting solids, and recommends breast milk or formula only for about the first 6 months [1].
What safety standard do high chairs have to meet?
16 CFR 1231, which makes ASTM F404-21 the mandatory federal standard for high chairs [2]. Portable hook-on chairs fall under 16 CFR 1233 and ASTM F1235-25 [3]. For a floor seat or booster, read the maker's manual for which standard it meets.
Is a hook-on chair safe?
It can be, on the right table. Chicco's Caddy only fits tables 0.75 to 1.5 inches thick and says not to use it on glass, loose or leaf tops, card tables, single-pedestal tables or with a tablecloth or placemat [8]. Check the table is stable before and after you seat your child.
Do I need a high chair with a 5-point harness?
The federal standard requires a restraint system, and the pick that fits your use matters more than the number of points. Graco's is a convertible 3- and 5-point [11], Ingenuity lists a 5-point harness [7], Chicco and Summer list 3-point [8][9], and Stokke sells its harness with the Baby Set [5]. Whichever you buy, buckle every time.
How do I clean a high chair?
Wipe the seat after every meal. Several picks here have dishwasher-safe tray inserts: the Joovy Nook, Ingenuity SmartClean Trio Elite and Summer Pop 'N Sit [6][7][9]. The Chicco Caddy's seat cover is machine washable [8].
Sources
Numbers in brackets in the guide link to these sources.
- 1.Starting Solid FoodsAmerican Academy of Pediatrics (HealthyChildren.org), 2026
- 2.16 CFR Part 1231: Safety Standard for High ChairsElectronic Code of Federal Regulations (CPSC), 2026
- 3.16 CFR Part 1233: Safety Standard for Portable Hook-On ChairsElectronic Code of Federal Regulations (CPSC), 2026
- 4.RecallsU.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission (CPSC), 2026
- 5.Tripp Trapp High ChairStokke, 2026
- 6.Nook HighchairJoovy, 2026
- 7.SmartClean Trio Elite 3-in-1 High ChairIngenuity (Kids2), 2026
- 8.Caddy Portable Hook-On ChairChicco USA, 2026
- 9.Pop 'N Sit Portable BoosterSummer (Kids2), 2026
- 10.Stokke Recalls Clikk High Chairs Due to Fall and Injury Hazards (22-113)U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission (CPSC), 2022
- 11.Slim Snacker HighchairGraco, 2026
- 12.Graco Recalls Highchairs Due to Fall Hazard; Sold Exclusively at Walmart (18-112)U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission (CPSC), 2018




