The Mom Site · themomsite.com/gear/clek-car-seats/
On this page8 sections
Key takeaways
- Clek gives every car seat a 9-year life from the date of manufacture. The Liing carrier and base can carry different dates, so check both labels.
- Liing and Liingo infant seats: 4 to 30 pounds, up to 32 inches, rear-facing only. Liing installs on a base with rigid-LATCH and a metal load leg; Liingo is baseless, with built-in LATCH connectors.
- Foonf and Fllo: rear-facing 14 to 50 pounds (25 to 43 inches), forward-facing 26.5 to 65 pounds (30 to 49 inches). Only the Foonf has rigid-LATCH, and only for forward-facing.
- NHTSA lists four Clek recalls: Liing and Liingo canopy stays and labels (21C-006, 21C-007), Foonf and Fllo cushion foam (21C-005), and Olli and Ozzi belt-routing labels (22C-002), all with free fixes.
- Clek's accident policy is stricter than NHTSA's minimum: replace the seat after any collision, regardless of severity.
Clek is a Canadian brand known for narrow, steel-reinforced seats. Owners mostly search for three things: what the Liing base and Foonf can hold, where the manual and date label are, and what the 2021 recalls covered. Everything below comes from Clek's own product and support pages, plus NHTSA's recall notices. We research seats; we haven't installed or tested them.
Clek weight and height limits by model
| Seat | Type | Rear-facing | Forward-facing | Booster |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Liing | Infant, with base | 4 to 30 lb, up to 32 in [1] | No | No |
| Liingo | Infant, baseless | 4 to 30 lb, up to 32 in [2] | No | No |
| Foonf | Convertible | 14 to 50 lb, 25 to 43 in [3] | 26.5 to 65 lb, 30 to 49 in [3] | No |
| Fllo | Convertible | 14 to 50 lb, 25 to 43 in [4] | 26.5 to 65 lb, 30 to 49 in [4] | No |
| Oobr | Booster | No | No | 40 to 100 lb, 43.3 to 57 in [5] |
| Olli | Booster | No | No | 40 to 120 lb, 40 to 57 in [6] |
Clek's notes on those numbers:
- Foonf and Fllo rear-facing: the child should be able to sit upright alone. With Clek's optional infant-thingy insert, the seats fit a child of 5 pounds and 19 inches [3][4].
- Foonf and Fllo forward-facing: Clek recommends age 2 or older, with a one-year minimum [3][4].
- Oobr and Olli: Clek recommends age 4 or older, and says booster laws vary by state [5][6]. Our car seat laws guide covers state rules.
Spec tables for the Liing and Foonf, with each value linked to Clek:
| Model | Child weight | Child height | Carrier weight | Installs | Rebound or load leg | Where to buy |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Clek LiingRear-facing infant seat with load-leg base | 4 to 30 lb | Up to 32 in | 9 lb | Rigid-LATCH base; seat belt without base (European belt path) | Metal load leg | Check on AmazonAffiliate link |
| Clek FoonfConvertible (harness only) | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Check on AmazonAffiliate link |
Check price on Amazon Affiliate link (Liing) · Check price on Amazon Affiliate link (Foonf)
The Clek Liing base, Liingo and the infant seat lineup
The Liing is a rear-facing infant seat that clicks into a base. Clek lists a base with a built-in metal load leg (13 positions), rigid-LATCH, and 7 recline positions that adjust while the base stays installed. The carrier weighs 9 pounds and the base 17 pounds [1].
The Liingo is the baseless version. LATCH connectors in a removable bin are built into the carrier, and Clek says both seats can also be installed with a vehicle belt using the European belt path [1][2]. That path is the one Clek says gives the Liingo its crash performance, compared with the American belt path [2].
Things owners ask about the base:
- Middle seats without LATCH: Clek says the Liing's belt-tensioning system gives a seat belt install without rigid-LATCH [1].
- Extra bases: Clek sells accessory and replacement bases. An extra base has its own manufacture date [8].
- Liing base with a Liingo carrier: Clek's Liingo page mentions removing the carrier from a "car seat base," but we couldn't confirm base compatibility in Clek's published specs. Ask Clek customer service (1-866-656-2462) before buying one.
- Strollers: Clek doesn't make a stroller. Both infant seats need an approved adapter [1].
For other infant seats compared on size and features, see our infant car seat guide.
Rigid-LATCH: what it is on each Clek seat
Rigid-LATCH is Clek's name for lower-anchor connectors on rigid arms instead of flexible straps. They click onto the vehicle's lower anchors. Which Clek seats have them, and in which mode, varies:
| Seat | Rear-facing | Forward-facing |
|---|---|---|
| Liing | Rigid-LATCH on the base [1] | N/A |
| Liingo | Flexible LATCH built into carrier, or vehicle belt [2] | N/A |
| Foonf | Flexible LATCH or seat belt [3] | Rigid-LATCH or seat belt [3] |
| Fllo | Flexible LATCH or seat belt [4] | Flexible LATCH or seat belt [4] |
| Oobr, Olli | N/A | Rigid-LATCH steadies the booster; the child is still held by the vehicle belt [5][6] |
Clek says the Fllo suits seat belt installs, such as three-across or center seats, and the Foonf suits families who want rigid-LATCH forward-facing [3][4]. Every lower-anchor install has a weight limit, which Clek lists in each owner's manual and your vehicle manual explains. Check it as your child grows, and switch to the seat belt when you pass it.
Have the install checked. NHTSA's Car Seat Inspection Finder, linked from its car seats page, lists stations and virtual inspectors [14].
How long is a Clek car seat good for?
Clek says every seat it makes lasts nine years from the date of manufacture [7]. Count from the barcode label, not your purchase date.
| Seat | Where the date label is |
|---|---|
| Liing carrier | Barcode label on the underside of the carrier [8] |
| Liing base | Barcode label on the bottom of the base [8] |
| Foonf | Barcode label on the back of the seat, near the bottom, with the serial number below it [9] |
Clek has a support article for each seat's label, including the Liingo, Fllo, Oobr and Olli, linked from its expiry page [7].
Clek's Liing article adds a detail worth knowing: a base showing only a serial number has the same date as its carrier. A base with its own date is an accessory or replacement base [8]. Our car seat expiration guide compares Clek's nine years with Britax, Graco, Chicco and others, and our Britax guide covers the longest-lived convertibles.
Clek car seat recalls
Clek's accident policy is the first safety rule to know. Clek says all of its seats must be replaced after a collision of any kind, regardless of severity, because even minor crashes can cause hidden damage [10]. That's stricter than NHTSA's minor-crash guidance, which our expiration guide explains.
NHTSA lists four Clek recall campaigns, checked October 16, 2026: two on the Liing and Liingo, one on the Foonf and Fllo, and one on the Olli and Ozzi boosters. The full list is on our Clek car seat recalls page.
| NHTSA campaign | Seats | Problem | Fix |
|---|---|---|---|
| 21C-006 (Dec 2021) | Liing LG19U1 built Mar 27, 2019 to Sep 14, 2020, and Liingo LGO20U1 built May 20 to Sep 14, 2020; 5,504 units [11][12] | The clear plastic canopy stay can break and leave a small piece an infant could put in their mouth. Clek says crash protection isn't affected [11] | Free replacement canopy stay [11][12] |
| 21C-007 (Dec 2021) | Liing LG19U1 built through Feb 22, 2021, and Liingo LGO20U1 built through Feb 22, 2021; 596 units [11][13] | Warning labels on the black fabric cover or infant insert can bubble, lift and peel, another choking hazard [11][13] | Free replacement seat cover or insert [13] |
| 21C-005 (Dec 2021) | Foonf (models FO12 to FO19) and Fllo (FL15 to FL19) built before May 21, 2021; 150,599 units [16] | A child could pick pieces of foam from the cushion under the seat pad [16] | Free molded plastic insert that blocks access to the foam [16] |
| 22C-002 (Jun 2022) | Olli booster OL12U2 built Jan 20, 2020 to May 10, 2022, and Ozzi booster OZ11U2 built Mar 1, 2020 to May 10, 2022; 11,123 units [16] | The installation diagram showing how to route the seat belt was wrong [16] | Free replacement label [16] |
Find the model number and manufacture date on your seat's label and compare it with the ranges above. A newer seat is outside them. For a used one, check these dates and search the model at nhtsa.gov/recalls [15]. Clek's customer service line is 1-866-656-2462.
We didn't find a recall on the Oobr, but our search isn't a guarantee. NHTSA's recall lookup is the final check, and it takes a minute.
Weighing the Foonf against Nuna's convertible? See Clek Foonf vs Nuna RAVA.
Questions people ask
How long is a Clek car seat good for?
Nine years from the date of manufacture, for every Clek seat, per Clek's support center. The date is on the barcode label, not the purchase date. Foonf's label is on the back of the seat near the bottom, and the Liing carrier's is on the underside.
Does the Clek Liing base expire?
Yes. The Liing carrier and base each have their own label. If the base shows only a serial number, its date matches the carrier it came with. A base with its own date is an extra or replacement base, so count nine years from that date.
What are the Clek Foonf rear-facing limits?
Rear-facing, the Foonf takes children from 14 to 50 pounds and 25 to 43 inches tall, and they should be able to sit upright alone, per Clek. With the optional infant-thingy insert, Clek says it fits a child as small as 5 pounds and 19 inches.
What is the difference between Clek Liing and Liingo?
Both are rear-facing infant seats for 4 to 30 pounds and up to 32 inches. The Liing sits on a base with rigid-LATCH and a metal load leg. The Liingo has no base and uses built-in LATCH connectors or the vehicle seat belt, which suits taxis and frequent car swaps.
Was the Clek Liing recalled?
Earlier production was. In December 2021 Clek recalled certain Liing and Liingo seats for a canopy stay that could break (21C-006) and warning labels that could peel (21C-007). Clek mailed free repair kits. Clek also recalled Foonf and Fllo seats built before May 21, 2021 for cushion foam a child could pick at (21C-005), and Olli and Ozzi boosters for a wrong belt-routing diagram (22C-002) [16]. Check your model number and manufacture date against the notices.
Where can I find the Clek Liing manual?
Clek posts owner's manuals on its support site at support.clekinc.com, searchable by seat. Look up your model, such as Liing, Foonf or Oobr, and match the manual to your seat's manufacture date.
Sources
Numbers in brackets in the guide link to these sources.
- 1.Liing infant car seatClek Inc., 2026
- 2.Liingo baseless infant car seatClek Inc., 2026
- 3.Foonf convertible car seatClek Inc., 2026
- 4.Fllo convertible car seatClek Inc., 2026
- 5.Oobr booster seatClek Inc., 2026
- 6.Olli booster seatClek Inc., 2026
- 7.When does my seat expire? What is my seat's expiry date?Clek Inc. (support center), 2026
- 8.How do I find my Liing's date of manufacture and serial number?Clek Inc. (support center), 2026
- 9.How do I find my Foonf's date of manufacture and serial number?Clek Inc. (support center), 2026
- 10.Accident Replacement PolicyClek Inc., 2026
- 11.Owner notice: Clek Liing and Liingo recalls 21C-006 and 21C-007National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA), 2021
- 12.Recall acknowledgment letter, Clek Inc., NHTSA Campaign 21C-006National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA), 2021
- 13.Safety Recall 21C007000: Label can come apart and may pose choking hazardVehicle Safety Recalls (NHTSA data), 2021
- 14.Car Seats and Booster SeatsNational Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA), 2026
- 15.Check for Recalls: Vehicle, Car Seat, Tire, EquipmentNational Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA), 2026
- 16.Child seat recall campaigns 21C-005 (Foonf and Fllo) and 22C-002 (Olli and Ozzi)National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA), 2022



